Slow Cooker Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I made this last night exactly as written, I only added 2 additional cloves of garlic and 1 additional jalepeno pepper and I just don't understand how it got such high reviews. It didn't taste bad, but it wasn't incredible either. It tasted like a chicken soup...and that was it. I'm giving it 3 stars b/c it was ok, but not at all what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I really liked how this turned out. I will admit though that I made adjustments suggested by other reviewers. The creole seasoning I used had plenty of salt so I didn't add any additional salt or pepper. I used petite diced tomatoes instead of stewed plus added a can of Rotel. I also added 1/2 small can of tomato paste, some extra garlic and about 1 cup low sodium chicken broth. I also put in some okra the last half hour or so of cooking. I omitted the mushrooms but that was just because family won't eat them. I cooked on low and everything was plenty done after about 9 hours. Since dinner wasn't for a while yet I ended up adding a cup of water the last little bit. (I chose water over broth since already seemed salty!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Pretty good recipe. I used a Creole Seasoning recipe from this site and it came out nice and spicy! Served it over rice, might be too spicy for soup but I'll make better adjustments on that next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kreativess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This really turned out aweful. I had high hopes after reading other reviews, but i found it just spicey and bland. My family wouldn't eat it, so i ended up adding a jar of salsa, corn, and black beans to make it more of a taco soup dish that i served with sprinked cheese and sour cream (tortillas on the side) That came out pretty good, and has since been requested again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
It was good but seemed like it was missing something. After adding in some hot sauce and brown sugar it was great! I used chicken legs and thighs and the meat was falling off the bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This was everything promised, an easy crockpot recipe with satisfying Creole flavor. Although my husband and I liked the heat, I will probably leave out the jalepeno out next time for the kids. I served mine over brown rice. I plan on heating the leftovers mixed with sour cream to serve over linguini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I love New Orleans style cooking! This is all so easy to make and full of flavor. I followed the recipe and added 1 8oz tomato paste, 1 can of chicken broth, Tony Charachere's creole spice, extra celery, fresh thick cut mushrooms, good amount of minced garlic, I like to use okra instead of green pepper, 1 can Rotel as well as 1 can of stewed tomatoes .. Cooked for 9hrs, 8 would have been fine. Served with rice. Ah so good. 1 jalapeno gave it a kick!! Left overs even better!! I guess you get the idea I really loved this will make again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave's girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Great recipe, I added some ingredients from other reviews and a few of my own because I wanted it just a little more spicy. This is great stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I was excited to make this recipe but was disappointed in the taste. My husband politely said it was "good" but I think my expectations were a little high. I added more garlic, tomato paste, and more onions, but this wasn't the homemade wonder that other reviewers depicted. I'm not saving this in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauraloves2run

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I made this yesterday since the weather has turned off cool and my 16 year old son ate 2 bowls of it. Didn't even wait for the rice. I did add the chicken stock, tomato paste and extra jalepenos. I also threw in leftover corn, a can of kidney beans and some smoked sausage. I think next time I will use bonless chicken thighs as the chicken breast was dry. Wonderful recipe and will make this a staple in my menu planning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mukamom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunwoody, Georgia, USA
Living In: Talladega, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States