Slow Cooker Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Very tasty! quick preparation... Next time I will add more tomato to increase the portions and help balance the protein/carb ratio. I started cooking after dinner and it was ready for my the next day. It made a great lunch! Everyone was envious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brando79az

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This was an excellent recipe, but being married to someone whose family is from Louisiana, I felt like it was missing something. Nonetheless, it was still one I will recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josh's Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Great flavor. I added a few dashes of Tobasco Sauce to the pot. Tastes great over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rowlett, Texas, USA
Living In: Grapevine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I had to make do w/what was in my cupboard: no mushrooms, frozen bell peppers, and b/c my 3yo wouldn't eat it---no jalapenos. The verdict: YUM. My almost 1 year old ate it up--celery and peppers and all! I did throw in a few frozen cubes of chicken broth b/c toward the end there wasn't much juice. Overall, it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
It was too dry. I would suggest using more of the tomatoes/sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Made a few changes based upon other reviews. It was a big hit in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I followed the recipe to the tee so I gave it chance before rating it. It was okay. Something tasted wierd. I'm thinking it might have been the mushrooms, since creole usually doesn't have mushrooms. I usually tweak, but this time I didn't. Next time I will use most of the ingrediants as a base then go from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
As a native New Orleanian I just couldn't make this without fixing it so that it would be more like Creole and not just chicken in tomato sauce, so I added some ingredients that are in a classic Creole sauce, (well ignoring that it's not shrimp, but chicken). I cut up the chicken into small pieces, used 28oz of crushed tomato in a can instead of the stewed tomatos, added 1/4 - 1/2 c dry white wine, abt. 5 dashes of worcestershire sauce, abt. 8-10 dashes of hot sauce, and a pat of butter. I omitted the mushrooms, and jalapenos, (not Creole). It's still not a true Creole sauce, but it's decent to put over rice and serve to the family or close friends as long as I don't claim it's Creole. BTW a true Creole sauce takes a million ingredients and half of your day, Creole is the fancy New Orleans style of cooking and almost always has some kind of sauce. Cajun cooking is more country fare and can usually be made in one or two pots. Cajun cooks had a farm or a boat to tend to and didn't have time for fancy dishes, unlike the wealthier people in the city.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
It turned out okay but we ended up tweaking it. It's kind of frustrating that the creole seasoning says "to taste" when you're first making it because you don't know if you're putting too much or not enough. We ended up adding more towards the end and it still didn't have enough flavor or spice. We also threw in some tomato paste because there was a lot of liquid and not enough tomato flavor. In the end we added some hot sauce into our individual bowls and it tasted just fine. We'll give this recipe another go but will first read through more of the comments to see what other people did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvfalcon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Very tasty! And so easy. I used a heavy amount of creole seasoning and also dumped about a half bag of okra in the crock. I used a bag of frozen chicken breasts and cooked for about 8 hours on low. Served over rice with cornbread. Big hit at the table and really healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lsimon99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States