Slow Cooker Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
This was ok, but I don't think I'll make it again....just didn't seem like a complete meal.... edit: added penne pasta boiled in beef stock and added more red pepper flakes, salt and pepper and it made it into a 4 star recipe- seems more like a meal now and taste is improved
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I really enjoyed this recipe. Of course, we all like to make things our own. I use Emeril's creole spice (NOT my own, google it). I dry rub the chicken with Emiril's spice, brown it in my cast iron pan then add to the slow cooker. I then deglaze the pan with a tasty red wine and add to the cooker with the chicken. I substitute the green pepper with one red, and one orange. I also just slice the jalapeno leaving the ribs and the seed for spice. Last but not least I add a thinly sliced andouille sausage for that smokey Louisiana goodness. Hailing from western Canada I have NO clue whether or not this counts as a "creole" but.... Mmmm nom nom nom. Thanks for the base recipe! I wouldn't have been able to create this from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geoff Maguire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
this was fantastic!! I used split chicken breasts and 2 hours before serving I shredded and removed the bones. added chicken back and cooked on high for 2 hours. served over rice and then added the leftover rice and some shrimp to the leftovers for jambalaya later in the week. I didnt add mushrooms or jalapeno. I have a 6 yr old, but I did add cayenne & it was perfect for a family meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humboldt, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Excellent! After reading numerous reviews I did add an extra can of chopped tomatoes to go along with the stewed and 1 extra small jalapeno and a 1/2 can of chicken broth. I used 3 heaping tbsp. of Tony C's creole seasoning "to taste". No salt or additional pepper was necessary. I also used a package of chicken breast tenders for the meat and MAN OH MAN THIS WAS GOOD! The texture was perfect and spooned it over some brown rice. As in another review, I put some in a soup bowl the next day, added a few splashes of water to thin it up a tad and it was some of the best soup I ever had! This ones a keeper--give it a try! However, though I like a bit of heat and 2 jalapenos was NOT overwhelmingly hot, I will probably only use one jalapeno the next time I make this delicious concoction. I cooked on high in slow cooker for 2 hours then low for 6 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glen Sardella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I think this is a great recipe to start with and tweak to your own taste. I added 4 T. creole seasoning, no mushrooms, no jalapeno, used Hunt's spicy diced tomatoes (2 cans), + tomato paste(1 can), + 1 cup chicken broth, +frozen corn, +diced 3 small zucchinis, +more minced garlic, +1 bay leaf,+1 t. of red pepper flakes,1 diced bell pepper, and no celery. Served over rice with a warm yeast roll on the side, and the family LOVED it!!! I get ideas from recipes, we all have different taste buds. So I give this (idea)recipe 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lamar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Great recipe, but next time I will add additional Creole Seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I just had to tweak this a bit, but the result was fantastic and I will definitely be making it again, I substituted a 10oz can of chunky rotel for the tomatoes, and added a tbs of worcestershire, 1/2 cup marinated artichoke hearts, and 1/2 bottle of ale (I used an IPA, but feel free to sub or use chicken stock for liquid) 6 hours on high and it was tender and easy to fork. the next morning I poured a bit of the leftovers on three scrambled eggs with a bit of queso fresco and was gooood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRMTLSCP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I added some mild Cajun sausage... Grilled first, then sliced in medallions. I also took the onions, a thinly sliced poblano pepper (cored and de-seeded), minced garlic, sliced portabella mushroom caps and thinly sliced onions and browned them in a teaspoon of extra virgin olive oil before adding them to the crock pot. I did omit the jalapeño pepper - family is not a fan... I used "Louisiana" gumbo seasoning for the roux. Yeah, I changed it a bit.... But the stew turned out so well, my Sweet Hubby was speechless!!! Being a Louisiana implant by marriage has taken my cooking skills up a notch!! Had too! In Louosiana, people don't eat to live, WE LIVE TO EAT!! Served over white medium grain rice. It was AMAZING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roger-Katrina Finley
Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Leesville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This is absolutely my favorite recipe so far. I left out the jalapeno, because my family doesn't like things too spicy, and used 3 tablespoons of the Creole seasoning. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Just added the Tomato paste and some broth. The rest is flexible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States