Slow Cooker Chicken Cordon Bleu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
My husband has been hounding me for chicken cordon bleu for a while. However, it's a little tough to make with a toddler and a newborn, so I was happy to find this recipe. I used 4 large boneless breasts that I butterflied and stuffed each with a slice of ham and Swiss cheese. I used a box of Stove Top stuffing mix, but only added 2 tablespoons of butter. It was a hit and my DH said he would be happy to have this every couple of weeks. We will definitely be eating this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
218 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warwick, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
True-this is not a true cordon bleu. But its a good recipe with the same idea of cordon bleu. And its a good crockpot recipe-which I am always trying to find a good crock pot recipe. If you want, you can butterfly the chicken boneless chicken breast and stuff it with the ham & cheese. Or you can pound the breast flat and roll the ham & cheese in the chicken and lay it in the crockpot with the seal side down so that it doesnt come undone (use a toothpick if you are nervous about it-just besure to remove it before serving). And cook it that way. This isnt a bad recipe, but I needed to add garlic and leeks to the pot. I live for spices. I will make it again and most likely butterfly the breasts and stuff them. But next time, I may add some white wine to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
I made this last night for company and it was a huge hit. Our friends wouldn't leave until we gave them a copy of this recipe. The one thing I did different was to butterfly the chicken and roll up the ham & cheese and stuff it inside. This worked perfectly to keep the cheese in. I will definately be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This recipe was a hit, I snuck this in on a weeknight for the fiance that "hates chicken cordon bleu". She definitely does not hate it after this, and even asked me to make it again. I did try it withe one BIG change. Instead of adding the box of stuffing, I added a box of those cheap scalloped potatoes to the top and about half of the seasoning packet from the boxed potatoes. It turned out phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Based on the previous reviews I waited until the last 1-2 hours before I put the cheese and stuffing in, and it turned out great! If you use larger chicken breats, it's a little hard to serve out of the crock-pot, so next time I may just cube the chicken and ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hernight2cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
This slow cooker recipe needs some flavor enhancement, but it was a hit with my company. When I make it again I will had some thyme and perhaps some garlic, and I will use a crock pot liner, as the bread crumbs stuck to the crock pot securely around the edges! Definitely will cook it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: King City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This was an amazing idea for what turned out to be a wonderful meal. I used ham chunks, halved the chicken breasts, added a can of chicken broth and half a minced onion...simmered all day. Thickened with a cornstach slurry. Layered in the swis cheese. Coated the stuffing with butter and topped the casserole...let it cook for another hour. So so so so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliskill

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
This Recipe was fantastic. I put the crockpot on high and it was done in just over 2 hours. It was a great first time crock pot experience. I was on weight watchers at the time; I replaced the milk with Skim milk, LOW FAT cheese, 1/2 fat soup, margarine instead of butter and it was DELICIOUS. My fiancé LOVED it and he is not a half fat/diet type of guy. [I only told him afterward]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Inuvik, Northwest Territories, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
the stuffing really added to this recipe. I used turkey flavour, which was left over from Christmas. I put some on earlier than added the last 1/2 package later, because other reviewers thought it got soggy. Mine was cripsy and very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darmstro67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Elora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Good, not great. The chicken got so tender it fell apart, which I was not expecting, so that made it different than I had anticipated. It was pretty salty with the ham, cream of chicken, cheese, butter, and seasoning from the stuffing. I think next time I will omit the butter and instead pour the remaining soup over the stuffing. But, I plan to make this again, it's great cold-weather food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Tucker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States