Slow Cooker Chicken Cordon Bleu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
My husband has been hounding me for chicken cordon bleu for a while. However, it's a little tough to make with a toddler and a newborn, so I was happy to find this recipe. I used 4 large boneless breasts that I butterflied and stuffed each with a slice of ham and Swiss cheese. I used a box of Stove Top stuffing mix, but only added 2 tablespoons of butter. It was a hit and my DH said he would be happy to have this every couple of weeks. We will definitely be eating this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warwick, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
True-this is not a true cordon bleu. But its a good recipe with the same idea of cordon bleu. And its a good crockpot recipe-which I am always trying to find a good crock pot recipe. If you want, you can butterfly the chicken boneless chicken breast and stuff it with the ham & cheese. Or you can pound the breast flat and roll the ham & cheese in the chicken and lay it in the crockpot with the seal side down so that it doesnt come undone (use a toothpick if you are nervous about it-just besure to remove it before serving). And cook it that way. This isnt a bad recipe, but I needed to add garlic and leeks to the pot. I live for spices. I will make it again and most likely butterfly the breasts and stuff them. But next time, I may add some white wine to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
I made this last night for company and it was a huge hit. Our friends wouldn't leave until we gave them a copy of this recipe. The one thing I did different was to butterfly the chicken and roll up the ham & cheese and stuff it inside. This worked perfectly to keep the cheese in. I will definately be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This recipe was a hit, I snuck this in on a weeknight for the fiance that "hates chicken cordon bleu". She definitely does not hate it after this, and even asked me to make it again. I did try it withe one BIG change. Instead of adding the box of stuffing, I added a box of those cheap scalloped potatoes to the top and about half of the seasoning packet from the boxed potatoes. It turned out phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Based on the previous reviews I waited until the last 1-2 hours before I put the cheese and stuffing in, and it turned out great! If you use larger chicken breats, it's a little hard to serve out of the crock-pot, so next time I may just cube the chicken and ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hernight2cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
This slow cooker recipe needs some flavor enhancement, but it was a hit with my company. When I make it again I will had some thyme and perhaps some garlic, and I will use a crock pot liner, as the bread crumbs stuck to the crock pot securely around the edges! Definitely will cook it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: King City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This was an amazing idea for what turned out to be a wonderful meal. I used ham chunks, halved the chicken breasts, added a can of chicken broth and half a minced onion...simmered all day. Thickened with a cornstach slurry. Layered in the swis cheese. Coated the stuffing with butter and topped the casserole...let it cook for another hour. So so so so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliskill

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
This Recipe was fantastic. I put the crockpot on high and it was done in just over 2 hours. It was a great first time crock pot experience. I was on weight watchers at the time; I replaced the milk with Skim milk, LOW FAT cheese, 1/2 fat soup, margarine instead of butter and it was DELICIOUS. My fiancé LOVED it and he is not a half fat/diet type of guy. [I only told him afterward]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
the stuffing really added to this recipe. I used turkey flavour, which was left over from Christmas. I put some on earlier than added the last 1/2 package later, because other reviewers thought it got soggy. Mine was cripsy and very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darmstro67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Elora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Good, not great. The chicken got so tender it fell apart, which I was not expecting, so that made it different than I had anticipated. It was pretty salty with the ham, cream of chicken, cheese, butter, and seasoning from the stuffing. I think next time I will omit the butter and instead pour the remaining soup over the stuffing. But, I plan to make this again, it's great cold-weather food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Tucker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States