Slow Cooker Chicken Cordon Bleu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Pretty good.... Although I prefer Behr's chicken cordon bleu (also on this site), this offered a nice change of pace. For a quick, no-fuss weeknight meal, this is perfectly acceptable in my book. :) I am a firm believer that tough cuts of meat are best suited for slow cooking, but with a little common sense, you can also cook leaner cuts with great results. The key is to cook on HIGH for a short amount of time. I've never had good luck with any chicken entree that I cooked on low for a prolonged period of time, but that's just me. To suit my needs, I halved this (just serving my hubs and I) and cooked on HIGH for 2.5 hours. My stuffing was not dry in the least (the steam that condenses on your slow cooker lid will help keep it moist!). My husband commented that this was good, and that's a HUGE compliment in our house (he is VERY picky lol!). Mashed potatoes, peas and fruit cocktail rounded out our mid-week meal. Thanks for sharing 001519! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
My family really liked this. I used organic chicken tenders, covered with soup and sprinkled half of stuffing mix on top (no butter). Cooked on medium (3) for about 3 hours then add a layer of ham, then swiss and topped with remaining stuffing and sprinkled with 2T butter - stuffing came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This was easy to make. Cubed the chicken, stirred with the soup and milk in the slow cooker. After 3 hrs on low I covered the chicken mixture with a layer of diced baked ham. An hour later I stirred it, layered the cheese over the mixture and topped with the stuffing mix and melted butter. Let it go for another hour. The result was pretty tasty. I would not recommend adding any salt as with these ingredients it didn't seem to need it. The stuffing was not mushy so waiting to add it seemed to work out. A green veggie went nicely on the side. This was good but for me I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I would have loved this with the stuffing but DH doesn't like it so used idea from another reviewer and used box scalloped potatoes, including the sauce packet (and nixed the butter). I was planning on serving broccoli with it so decided to just throw it in. I also browned the chicken first and then cooked it in the oven at 450 for about 30 minutes. I know lots of changes but the original recipe would've been great - the ingredient mix is what makes it and its easy to modify. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
My family loved this recipe. the only problem I had was the stuffing was dry on top., next time I will prepare the stove top following directions and add it either the last 1/2 hour of cooking or just serve on the side. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This is a great recipe. I followed the advice of other reviews by adding some extra flavor, so I added lots of garlic, onion, and a half cup of white cooking wine. I also added some chicken broth, because I thought it might dry out, but it was not necessary. I added low-sodium chicken stuffing on top with 2 hours to go, but next time I will wait the last 30 minutes since they got mushy. I also butterflied the chicken, and stuffed the cheese and ham inside which turned out nice. I think I may try prosciutto and provolone next time. The chicken was nice and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Yummy, although a tad too salty. I followed the recipe exactly and it was good enough that I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This was so good and easy to make. We usually don't like stuffing in our house but it is so good in this recipe. I will be definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bulldog Momma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
chicken was tender, but dry; stuffing was over-done... was just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
My family loved this! I love how the cheese melted and became part of the thick, rich sauce. We just spooned it over each portion as it was served. It was delicious! Definitely will make this again next time we have guests for dinner--if I can wait that long...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenDiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States