Slow Cooker Chicken Cordon Bleu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by Nicki G
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I made 1 change, added mushrooms to the soup mixture. When I was little, I remember detesting stuffing, but since I also didn't like ranch then and I do now, I figured I'd give the stuffing a try again. I shouldn't have. I should have gone with one reviewers idea of adding the cheesy potatoes on top. The stuffing over powered every other taste. I couldn't taste the swiss cheese or the ham. The chicken itself was fine, and really moist, but the stuffing....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicki G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Excellent!!! I put the ham & cheese in the middle of the chicken breast and added garlic & green onions to the soup for a little added flavor. I would also recommend waiting til the last 30 minutes to put the stuffing on, it gets a bit mushy if you add it earliler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pahajean
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
To us, this recipe tastes nothing like chicken cordon bleu, but it is such a delicious concoction that I had to give it 5 stars! We followed the recipe exactly and loved it. My fiance said that this was the best thing to come out of a crockpot! He can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I have never written a review, but had to after making this. This was great!!! After reading some of the previous reviews, I did make some changes. First, I used 98% Fat Free Cream of Chicken Soup. Second, I threw in a little white wine. Since I had forgotten to thaw the chicken, I just threw it in frozen. Finally, I waited until the last 45 minutes to add the dressing. The chicken breast turned out sooo moist and tender you didn't even need a knife to cut it! My family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANDISPAZZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Easy five-star recipe! I butterflied and then pounded flat four chicken breasts, which I seasoned with ground black pepper and sage. I layered thick slices of Swiss cheese (from a brick of it) and several slices of thin shaved brown sugar deli ham over the center of each breast and folded closed. In light of all the reviewers who complained about the meal being dry, I added an extra half soup can of milk and 1/4 cup of white wine to the sauce, which I briefly simmered on the stove with some random seasonings and chopped fresh garlic (2 cloves, may add more next time). Yes, the majority of the stuffing got mushy from the sauce, but I knew that going in and didn't care--I don't mind that. I initially set my crockpot on low for six hours, but after about four and a half, parts of the stuffing topping were starting to burn a bit. I ended up serving this after exactly five hours. Well, I have to say, the chicken was perfectly moist and delicious. Not a bit dry. Most of the Swiss cheese stayed where it belonged; the small amount that escaped into the sauce/stuffing only enhanced the dish in my opinion. The flavor was out of this world, and not at all too salty. The stuffing did stick to the sides of my crockpot and I will probably use a liner next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEADGIRRRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I thought that this recipe sounded to simple to be really good. It was not! My whole family loved it. The flavors were great and it was SO simple. I will surely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alden, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Yummy! My picky 3 year old LOVED it. I butterflied the chicken and stuffed the cheese and ham inside as others have suggested. It was also great because I had all the ingredients in the house - always a bonus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Really good! But use lower sodium soup. The saltiness of the ham and the soup is too much. But otherwise great! I will make this again. I passed the recipe out to all of my friends! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bayfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay Village, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I really liked this recipe. The chicken was a little dry though, but adding extra milk or maybe waiting to add the stuffing for later could help. It seemed like a lot of stuffing, but I like stuffing, so I didn't mind that too much. So easy and delicious though. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beach lover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Ok, so I totally forgot to get the crock pot ready the night before and didn't have time in the morning, so I improvised. I used a brick of swiss cheese cubed instead of slices. I threw all of the ingredients in a 9 x 13 pan and baked it for about 40 min at 350. Next time I think I would use a slightly smaller pan but otherwise it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buffy S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, Illinois, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States