Slow Cooker Chicken Cordon Bleu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Easy five-star recipe! I butterflied and then pounded flat four chicken breasts, which I seasoned with ground black pepper and sage. I layered thick slices of Swiss cheese (from a brick of it) and several slices of thin shaved brown sugar deli ham over the center of each breast and folded closed. In light of all the reviewers who complained about the meal being dry, I added an extra half soup can of milk and 1/4 cup of white wine to the sauce, which I briefly simmered on the stove with some random seasonings and chopped fresh garlic (2 cloves, may add more next time). Yes, the majority of the stuffing got mushy from the sauce, but I knew that going in and didn't care--I don't mind that. I initially set my crockpot on low for six hours, but after about four and a half, parts of the stuffing topping were starting to burn a bit. I ended up serving this after exactly five hours. Well, I have to say, the chicken was perfectly moist and delicious. Not a bit dry. Most of the Swiss cheese stayed where it belonged; the small amount that escaped into the sauce/stuffing only enhanced the dish in my opinion. The flavor was out of this world, and not at all too salty. The stuffing did stick to the sides of my crockpot and I will probably use a liner next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEADGIRRRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I thought that this recipe sounded to simple to be really good. It was not! My whole family loved it. The flavors were great and it was SO simple. I will surely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alden, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Yummy! My picky 3 year old LOVED it. I butterflied the chicken and stuffed the cheese and ham inside as others have suggested. It was also great because I had all the ingredients in the house - always a bonus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Really good! But use lower sodium soup. The saltiness of the ham and the soup is too much. But otherwise great! I will make this again. I passed the recipe out to all of my friends! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bayfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay Village, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I really liked this recipe. The chicken was a little dry though, but adding extra milk or maybe waiting to add the stuffing for later could help. It seemed like a lot of stuffing, but I like stuffing, so I didn't mind that too much. So easy and delicious though. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beach lover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Ok, so I totally forgot to get the crock pot ready the night before and didn't have time in the morning, so I improvised. I used a brick of swiss cheese cubed instead of slices. I threw all of the ingredients in a 9 x 13 pan and baked it for about 40 min at 350. Next time I think I would use a slightly smaller pan but otherwise it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buffy S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, Illinois, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I don't know what went wrong with this recipe, but I cannot say this recipe resembled anything close to Chicken Cordon Bleu. I questioned, how it could go wrong with such great ingredients...it did! I will never make this dish again. I will look for another CCB. I guess that is what I get for expecting the quality of this meal from a slowcooker- ick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracydenese29

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I wish I could do a 1/2 star with this. It was a decent recipe but the stuffing -- half of it was so soggy that it was inedible and the other half was still rock hard....so I made another package of stuffing on the stove. The taste of the rest was pretty good. Imay use this agin but just skip the stuffing part of it. Thanks anyway....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D89BUTTONS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Grain Valley, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This was delicious! I used a 5 oz box of whole wheat Stove Top stuffing and only 3 chicken breasts. I topped each chicken breast with only 1 slice of cheese, which I would maybe increase next time. Otherwise, no other changes necessary. It is pretty salty, maybe a low sodium soup would work better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This was really pretty good. The stuffing did soak up all the chicken soup so it seemed a little dry. The chicken was so tender and the other flavors were great. I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States