Slow Cooker Chicken Continental Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This was a different, tasty recipe that my whole family loved. It's great to have another recipe using the crock pot that everyone will eat. I followed the suggestion of using the Budtig packaged beef versus the Armour dried beef in the jar. Not only was it less expensive, it was not salty. I did not have to rinse the beef before using it. I also added a can of mushrooms to the mix as we all like mushrooms. I served this yummy dish over rice. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I thought the recipe turned out great. My entire family liked it. The gravy is really good. For those who find it too salty, I think you may not have rinsed off the dried beef, which is recommended when using it in recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This is very good, when ever I use chipped Beef from the jars I always rinse it very well under water and it gets rid of a lot of the salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLIZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This great flavor combination has been around for a long, long time, but this is perhaps the easiest version I have seen. My late wife used to pound the chicken breasts flat, then roll a slice of dried beef inside each, making a kind of rouladen. She would lay these out closely in a baking dish and pour the sauce over all, then cook covered with foil in a slow oven for about an hour and a half. Sometimes she would add a little sherry or white wine to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I love this recipe but did use the thin lunch meat in the luncheon section instead of the dried beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA
Living In: Algonac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I have made this recipe for many years and I have done it in the oven or in a crock pot if I can't be here to get it going. For those who think it is too salty----You HAVE to rinse off the dried beef. That helps a ton with the salty. I also double the gravy using Cream of Chicken soup instead since my family will not eat mushrooms. Served over rice this is an awesome meal that the whole family eats including the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
To make this really good you need something to freshen it up. I added fresh chives and parsley adn it seemed to help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Just made this today for dinner, and it turned out great! I doubled the recipe to feed my family, except for the dried beef....I only used one 8 oz jar for the whole thing. I also rinsed the beef in warm water as others suggested. The only thing I added was some pepper to the soup mix. I put it in the cooker on low for 6 hours. By the time I checked it the chicken was very moist and falling apart, so I just pulled all the pieces apart along with the beef and I served it over egg noodles. Even my super picky toddlers ate it all! I'll definately make this again. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Shenandoah Junction, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Easy to make. Delicious, but very salty. Very. Use the low-sodium cream of mushroom soup to knock the saltiness down a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I seasoned the chicken with paprika, salt and pepper and then seered lightly before putting into the cooker. I skipped the beef and added onions to the mixture. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States