Slow Cooker Chicken Continental Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
YUM!!! So easy...and SO GOOD!!! I also used 2 cans of mushroom soup and 2 cups of sour cream and 1/2 c flour. Also used 6 breasts!! Served with rice and asparagus!! Definitely will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AGGIEMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Temple, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I'm not sure what happened. This recipe is very similar to what my mom makes in the oven. All I can think is that perhaps my slow cooker seal isn't very good. All of the gravy was either absorbed or evaporated, leaving me with stringy chicken and darkened dried beef. It was unattractive/unappetizing, but moist. My guest and husband ate it, so it could have been worse. I won't make this again. Used 1.5lbs chix with a 5 oz jar of dried beef- definitely needs the rinsing. Made full amount of sauce. I did wrap the breasts with uncooked bacon, which I think added a nice flavor. I added some frozen peas at the very end after discovering there was no sauce. Served with egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This was very salty. My family wouldn't eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
What the heck is dried beef? In Canada here, and I have never heard of this before? Help? I'd love to try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This was a different, tasty recipe that my whole family loved. It's great to have another recipe using the crock pot that everyone will eat. I followed the suggestion of using the Budtig packaged beef versus the Armour dried beef in the jar. Not only was it less expensive, it was not salty. I did not have to rinse the beef before using it. I also added a can of mushrooms to the mix as we all like mushrooms. I served this yummy dish over rice. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I thought the recipe turned out great. My entire family liked it. The gravy is really good. For those who find it too salty, I think you may not have rinsed off the dried beef, which is recommended when using it in recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This is very good, when ever I use chipped Beef from the jars I always rinse it very well under water and it gets rid of a lot of the salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLIZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This great flavor combination has been around for a long, long time, but this is perhaps the easiest version I have seen. My late wife used to pound the chicken breasts flat, then roll a slice of dried beef inside each, making a kind of rouladen. She would lay these out closely in a baking dish and pour the sauce over all, then cook covered with foil in a slow oven for about an hour and a half. Sometimes she would add a little sherry or white wine to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I love this recipe but did use the thin lunch meat in the luncheon section instead of the dried beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA
Living In: Algonac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I have made this recipe for many years and I have done it in the oven or in a crock pot if I can't be here to get it going. For those who think it is too salty----You HAVE to rinse off the dried beef. That helps a ton with the salty. I also double the gravy using Cream of Chicken soup instead since my family will not eat mushrooms. Served over rice this is an awesome meal that the whole family eats including the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States