Slow Cooker Chicken Continental Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
The gravy was good, but I didn't care for the dried beef. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I prepared this as directed in the recipe, although I used only one small jar of dried beef and all low fat versions of the cream soups. It was not too salty, the chicken fell apart and the sauce was very good. My husband enjoyed it very much. I do think that the flavor could be bumped up hugely by adding some garlic and bacon. I will try this one again with those two additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKWRIGHT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boring, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I serve a similar recipe in my restaurant and it's a huge hit. I butter the bottom of a 7qt crock pot, line it with enough dried beef to cover the bottom in a single layer slightly overlapping (1 small jar or package 3 ounces--don't rinse the dried beef. 16 ounces is way to much for this recipe and makes it overly salty). Place 6 or 7 chicken breasts on the dried beef and add 2 cans each of cream of mushroom soup, cream of celery soup, cream of chicken soup (use enough soups to fill your pot after you've added everything. I usually add 2 cans of cream of chicken and mushroom on top of everything. You can use whatever creamy soup you like best). Add a package of dry onion soup mix. Take a pint of sour cream and mix with 1/4 cup flour and dump in. Be sure to mix flour and sour cream well...no lumps. Use a wisk and do this a little at a time. Finally, take a full pound of bacon, cut it into 1/4 inch pieces, lightly fry and add to crockpot. Can be cooked on high or low depending on how much time you have. Best cooked on low for 6 hours and high for 2 to finish. Give a good stir when you put the temp on high. You can keep the breasts whole, but I tear them apart with a fork as I mix everything up. This is wonderful served on egg noodles. I also serve it as a variation over biscuits for breakfast. You may notice the recipe tightening up if you have to re-heat it. If this happens just add some chicken stock to thin the gravey. This also freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I followed the modified version submitted by TSR3 - awesome! I am not a cook and found this easy and very very good! My husband who is the cook was even impressed! Will def make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This recipe lacked flavor, was dry. We didn't save any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I'm really glad I finally tried this! I'm not sure if I liked it or not though. The [pre-rinsed] dried beef stained the chicken an odd pink color (and even though I know it was cooked thru it made it hard to eat pink chicken). The gravy was good but the chicken was still dry. Maybe my crock pot cooked it too fast; not sure. Anyway, I don't know if I'll try this one again but thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Chase Simon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This is a really easy and good recipe. I made one change. I did not have dried beef and didn't have time to go to the store and look for it so I used roast beef I had from the deli. It was cut on the thin side. Everything else was done according to recipe directions. I did cook it in the oven versus the crockpot. I really enjoyed this. So did my family. We served it over rice. Aslo a good recipe side for this is the sauteed curry corn, also from this site. Excellent combination. A little heavy on the carb count but worth every bite of calorie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
If it were up to me, I wouldn't give this dish any stars, the beef was much too salty and the sour cream just didn't seem to pair up with the cream of mushroom at all. What a waste of a meal, I won't ever try this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bseriouss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
My family (including out of town members) enjoyed this recipe. Next time I'll use a LOT less beef. Several did comment it tasted like Tuna! Easy, filling. We'll probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Park

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Delicious! I also added 6 strips of bacon to the crock pot, layered in with the dried beef, and it was wonderful. I also used low-fat sour cream and cream cheese and 98% fat-free soup, and it turned out fantastic! I like a lot of sauce, so I recommend only 4 breasts for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States