Slow Cooker Chicken Chili with Greens and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This was really good. I added garbanzo beans along with the white and black beans, one can of each. Kale would've been good, but I didn't have any so I used frozen collard greens instead. I sautéed garlic with the onion and added frozen chicken breasts straight from the freezer. I don't have any garlic and herb seasoning (and have no idea what's in it), so I generously added some garlic powder and a sprinkle of oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CrimsonJewel
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Wonderful recipe, and had a followed it, would have been perfect! i didn't have chili powder in my cupboard, neither did i have a can of tomoates. I did add some carrot, celery, and bell peppers though. I also used fresh flowering oriental kale instead of the frozen green. great idea adding kale to the chili! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrimsonJewel

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I have been wanting to make this for a while. I finally did last night. I turned out better than expected!! I did make some changes to the recipe: I add carrot and celery and cooked the veggies and onion in the slow cooker because I wanted all the flavors in the chili (it also made it a one pot dish. instead of using cream to thicken it I pureed halve the beans and added a little corn starch. At the end I added a little brown sugar and cinnamon to make it sweet and spicy. I think the only thing I would change for next time is to add some cream corn to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
It was great, I wish I had more Kale to add to it. I didn't have much left in my garden. I made it as we were having a overnight house guest and needed to do something in the slow cooker as I would not have time after work to do much cooking. She loved it and went back for seconds and thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruby Kopenski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This is wonderful. I just used a can of drained turnip greens instead of kale and used rotel tomatoes. I had some turned up noses when I told what it had in it but after my family tried it, they requested I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
We really enjoyed this soup. I just added more seasonings and some jalapenos for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I thought this was a good recipe for a one pot meal. I substituted fat free evaporated milk for the heavy cream. It has the same thickening/creaming without all the fat. I also only used 3 cups of broth. In addition, I added cumin instead of the herb mix and added corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I added Mild Italian Chicken Sausage. Great recipe, Easy,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This was so easy to make on a night I really was too tired to cook anything with a lot of effort. I skipped the kale since my husband does not like it, and added green bell peppers and corn! I also used soy black beans which added a nice flavor to the chili. Great recipe - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I made this tonight for my family and we all loved it. I did not have garlic and herb seasoning so used cumin instead. I omited the heavy cream but served with cheese and sour cream. I used a bunch of fresh turnip greens - instead of chopping them I blended them with some of the chicken stock in my vitamix. Our only "complaint" was that this ended up more watery than we prefer (and I didn't want to transfer it to the stove to reduce it). I think next time I will cut the chicken stock in half. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States