Slow Cooker Chicken Chili with Greens and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CrimsonJewel
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Wonderful recipe, and had a followed it, would have been perfect! i didn't have chili powder in my cupboard, neither did i have a can of tomoates. I did add some carrot, celery, and bell peppers though. I also used fresh flowering oriental kale instead of the frozen green. great idea adding kale to the chili! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrimsonJewel

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Pretty yummy and a great way to use kale! I used "rotel" tomatoes instead of plain diced, fresh kale instead of frozen, threw in some garlic with the onion, no cream and whatever chili-type seasonings I had laying around (cumin, paprika etc). Came out great. But noticed the kale ended up soaking up the flavors more than anything else (kale was pretty spicy, while broth and beans mild).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SisterSarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This was so easy to make on a night I really was too tired to cook anything with a lot of effort. I skipped the kale since my husband does not like it, and added green bell peppers and corn! I also used soy black beans which added a nice flavor to the chili. Great recipe - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I can't pinpoint it, but I didn't love it. Made exactly as it says, except for I added 3/4 c. of frozen corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parksley, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I really enjoyed this, but hubby complained about the kale while he ate a big bowl... So normal meal times in my house! I modified the recipe based on what I had, but I think still stayed true to recipe. I had dry white beans, so I started them in the crock pot the night before with some chicken broth, and added the onion and garlic (no garlic and herb seasoning), half the chili powder, and a generous amount of cumin. The next morning I proceeded with the recipe as written, adding kale, the rest of the chili powder, etc., and letting it slow cook for about 6 1/2 more hours. I did use fresh kale, about 4 or 5 cups, rather than frozen pre-cooked, and left out the salt because of all the broth I used. Because of dietary issues, I also subbed a brick of softened low fat cream cheese for the cream. Saved on fat, and the blood sugar problems of lactose. I garnished with a shredded queso and sliced avocado. Thanks for sharing! And tho the recipe didn't specify, I did not drain my tomatoes when I added them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I have been wanting to make this for a while. I finally did last night. I turned out better than expected!! I did make some changes to the recipe: I add carrot and celery and cooked the veggies and onion in the slow cooker because I wanted all the flavors in the chili (it also made it a one pot dish. instead of using cream to thicken it I pureed halve the beans and added a little corn starch. At the end I added a little brown sugar and cinnamon to make it sweet and spicy. I think the only thing I would change for next time is to add some cream corn to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I made this tonight for my family and we all loved it. I did not have garlic and herb seasoning so used cumin instead. I omited the heavy cream but served with cheese and sour cream. I used a bunch of fresh turnip greens - instead of chopping them I blended them with some of the chicken stock in my vitamix. Our only "complaint" was that this ended up more watery than we prefer (and I didn't want to transfer it to the stove to reduce it). I think next time I will cut the chicken stock in half. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I added Mild Italian Chicken Sausage. Great recipe, Easy,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I thought this was a good recipe for a one pot meal. I substituted fat free evaporated milk for the heavy cream. It has the same thickening/creaming without all the fat. I also only used 3 cups of broth. In addition, I added cumin instead of the herb mix and added corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This was really good. I added garbanzo beans along with the white and black beans, one can of each. Kale would've been good, but I didn't have any so I used frozen collard greens instead. I sautéed garlic with the onion and added frozen chicken breasts straight from the freezer. I don't have any garlic and herb seasoning (and have no idea what's in it), so I generously added some garlic powder and a sprinkle of oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States