Slow Cooker Chicken Chili with Greens and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
this was very delicious and hearty.. cut the recipe in half and used all white kidney beans, a can of rotel for the diced tomatoes, and about 2 1/2 cups of fresh kale.. didn't saute the onion before adding it in.. used 1 tsp garlic powder and 1 tsp cumin as others did for the garlic and herb seasoning.. reduced the salt to 1/2 tsp.. used two small breasts for the large and left out the heavy cream.. ty so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Made the recipe as written and it wasn't very flavorful - which is fine by me because I don't like spicy. I liked that it incorporated the kale (it's so good for you and the kids had no idea it was there). Easy to throw together for a weeknight dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This is wonderful. I just used a can of drained turnip greens instead of kale and used rotel tomatoes. I had some turned up noses when I told what it had in it but after my family tried it, they requested I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I thought this was a good recipe for a one pot meal. I substituted fat free evaporated milk for the heavy cream. It has the same thickening/creaming without all the fat. I also only used 3 cups of broth. In addition, I added cumin instead of the herb mix and added corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This was really good. I added garbanzo beans along with the white and black beans, one can of each. Kale would've been good, but I didn't have any so I used frozen collard greens instead. I sautéed garlic with the onion and added frozen chicken breasts straight from the freezer. I don't have any garlic and herb seasoning (and have no idea what's in it), so I generously added some garlic powder and a sprinkle of oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I really enjoyed this, but hubby complained about the kale while he ate a big bowl... So normal meal times in my house! I modified the recipe based on what I had, but I think still stayed true to recipe. I had dry white beans, so I started them in the crock pot the night before with some chicken broth, and added the onion and garlic (no garlic and herb seasoning), half the chili powder, and a generous amount of cumin. The next morning I proceeded with the recipe as written, adding kale, the rest of the chili powder, etc., and letting it slow cook for about 6 1/2 more hours. I did use fresh kale, about 4 or 5 cups, rather than frozen pre-cooked, and left out the salt because of all the broth I used. Because of dietary issues, I also subbed a brick of softened low fat cream cheese for the cream. Saved on fat, and the blood sugar problems of lactose. I garnished with a shredded queso and sliced avocado. Thanks for sharing! And tho the recipe didn't specify, I did not drain my tomatoes when I added them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I have been wanting to make this for a while. I finally did last night. I turned out better than expected!! I did make some changes to the recipe: I add carrot and celery and cooked the veggies and onion in the slow cooker because I wanted all the flavors in the chili (it also made it a one pot dish. instead of using cream to thicken it I pureed halve the beans and added a little corn starch. At the end I added a little brown sugar and cinnamon to make it sweet and spicy. I think the only thing I would change for next time is to add some cream corn to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
We really enjoyed this soup. I just added more seasonings and some jalapenos for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
It was great, I wish I had more Kale to add to it. I didn't have much left in my garden. I made it as we were having a overnight house guest and needed to do something in the slow cooker as I would not have time after work to do much cooking. She loved it and went back for seconds and thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Pretty yummy and a great way to use kale! I used "rotel" tomatoes instead of plain diced, fresh kale instead of frozen, threw in some garlic with the onion, no cream and whatever chili-type seasonings I had laying around (cumin, paprika etc). Came out great. But noticed the kale ended up soaking up the flavors more than anything else (kale was pretty spicy, while broth and beans mild).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SisterSarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States