Slow Cooker Chicken Chili with Greens and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CrimsonJewel
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Wonderful recipe, and had a followed it, would have been perfect! i didn't have chili powder in my cupboard, neither did i have a can of tomoates. I did add some carrot, celery, and bell peppers though. I also used fresh flowering oriental kale instead of the frozen green. great idea adding kale to the chili! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrimsonJewel

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I added Mild Italian Chicken Sausage. Great recipe, Easy,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This was so easy to make on a night I really was too tired to cook anything with a lot of effort. I skipped the kale since my husband does not like it, and added green bell peppers and corn! I also used soy black beans which added a nice flavor to the chili. Great recipe - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I can't pinpoint it, but I didn't love it. Made exactly as it says, except for I added 3/4 c. of frozen corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parksley, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I made this tonight for my family and we all loved it. I did not have garlic and herb seasoning so used cumin instead. I omited the heavy cream but served with cheese and sour cream. I used a bunch of fresh turnip greens - instead of chopping them I blended them with some of the chicken stock in my vitamix. Our only "complaint" was that this ended up more watery than we prefer (and I didn't want to transfer it to the stove to reduce it). I think next time I will cut the chicken stock in half. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mkstevens09
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
This was good, but a little too soupy for me. Next time I will only add enough broth to cover the chicken, maybe half the amount called for. I made a few changes, based on what I had on hand/preferred: I used 1 box of drained frozen spinach in place of kale (did not have kale), used onion powder in place of onion, and used 1 can each of white and black beans instead of measuring 2 cups each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Pretty yummy and a great way to use kale! I used "rotel" tomatoes instead of plain diced, fresh kale instead of frozen, threw in some garlic with the onion, no cream and whatever chili-type seasonings I had laying around (cumin, paprika etc). Came out great. But noticed the kale ended up soaking up the flavors more than anything else (kale was pretty spicy, while broth and beans mild).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SisterSarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
It was great, I wish I had more Kale to add to it. I didn't have much left in my garden. I made it as we were having a overnight house guest and needed to do something in the slow cooker as I would not have time after work to do much cooking. She loved it and went back for seconds and thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
We really enjoyed this soup. I just added more seasonings and some jalapenos for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I have been wanting to make this for a while. I finally did last night. I turned out better than expected!! I did make some changes to the recipe: I add carrot and celery and cooked the veggies and onion in the slow cooker because I wanted all the flavors in the chili (it also made it a one pot dish. instead of using cream to thicken it I pureed halve the beans and added a little corn starch. At the end I added a little brown sugar and cinnamon to make it sweet and spicy. I think the only thing I would change for next time is to add some cream corn to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States