Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
OMIGOSH THIS IS SO GOOD! YOU HAVE TO TRY MY VERSION! SOOOO MUCH FLAVOR AND NOT RUNNY AT ALL!!!!!! My version, for more flavor: 4 boneless/skinless chicken breasts (frozen), 1/2 ( or 3/4) jar of spaghetti sauce (eye ball it) (I use Classico Cabernet Marinara with Herbs) 1 can tomato paste, 1/2 green bell pepper chopped, 1/2 diced yellow onion, fresh sliced mushrooms, 3 tablespoons fresh garlic, light-medium sprinkle of crushed red pepper flakes, heavy sprinkling of oregano, light-medium spinkle of black pepper (can always add more later), and fresh basil leaves torn up. Cook on low for 7-8 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1264 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmilti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
I altered this recipe a bit to suit our family's tastes but the recipe still served as a wonderful basis for a great dish. I used only 3 boneless skinless breasts (whole) as we don't really care for leftover chicken, and threw them right in there frozen as I've heard other reviewers say they've done this and I wanted to try for those days when I forget to thaw. It was cooked to perfection, fork tender and juicy in approx 7 hours. How wonderful! I used whole fresh mushrooms since they're easier to pick out (hate em!) and sliced the onion into rings for those who don't like them. I am big on garlic so I added about 4 big cloves, chopped, and also added some Italian seasoning and basil. 1/4 cup of wine, a can of diced tomatoes (flavored) and a can of tomato paste and voila! excellent, excellent chicken. My hubby requested I make extra sauce for dipping and such. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
420 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
Using FROZEN boneless skinless chicken breasts in slow cooking will keep the chicken from turning to mush. Some newer slow cooker cookbooks warn against this, but I've cooked many chicken recipes this way and never had a problem. I've never needed to lengthen the cooking time. Be sure to double-check the chicken for doneness before serving. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
348 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
As written, I could see why some reviews were less than favorable. To me, boneless chicken breasts just don't seem to constitute "cacciatore". The flavor just isn't there, but then again, that's only my opinion. I used bone-in pieces of chicken, which I browned in a skillet first and added the flavorful browned bits to the crock pot. The whole family was very happy with this tasty recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2003
This is a great basic recipe, but I found it a bit bland & watery. I tried again & scaled it for 4 servings, used a small jar of spaghetti sauce & a can of tomato paste, which made a nice thick sauce. I also added spices (oregano, basil, seasoning salt, pepper) and used dehydrated onion. It came out great the 2nd time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
This is a great recipe. Use a good brand of pasta sauce, add lots of garlic and peppers and you'll have a restaurant quality meal. IMPORTANT NOTE: If you use boneless, skinless breasts (as I did), only cook for about 4 to 5 (max) hours on LOW or else your chicken's texture will be like canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Yummy - about 4.5 stars actually. I cut the recipe in half and cooked on high for 4 hours. You don't need very much sauce. I would recommend using half the sauce it calls for in the beginning. Then towards the end you can add more if needed, that way it's not too runny. Also, I added the mushrooms about 15 minutes before it was done, then they aren't mushy, just perfect. Another suggestion is to always just saute the mushrooms, onions and garlic (even bell peppers if desired) in olive oil and then top the chicken and sauce with it. Yummy dish, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
My family loves it. Fast, easy. Be careful to cover chicken completely in sauce or the exposed parts will dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
I rate this recipe 4 stars. Someone ought to edit it to indicate the needed amount of salt (which has been left out of the list of ingredients). I added some Italian seasoning herbs and a small can of Italian-flavored tomato paste. The liquid was rather runny so I had to thicken it with some cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2001
Very easy and good recipe to come home to! I used fewer chicken breasts (3) because I needed a smaller dish - turned out fine! I added 1/4 cup red wine that added even more flavor. I wouldn't recommend cooking it over 7 hours though - chicken gets a "pasty" texture somehow. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 501) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States