Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Very good! I'm going to try cooking it for about 6 hours next time, the chicken was slightly dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Tasty.Used red pepper instead of green.Added a can of tomatoe paste as others suggested(recommended).Spiced it up before cooking as well.Added garlic powder ,ground pepper , crushed red pepper flakes ,oregano and a pinch of salt.Used frozen chicken breasts and it was done in exactly 7 hrs.With these changes will definately make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This is definitely a keeper. Make sure to go by the revisions by kmilti, they are spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Really good. I implemented a LOT of changes as other reviewers indicated. I started with bone-in, skin-on chicken thighs, sprinkled on salt and pepper, and browned in 1 tablespoon of olive oil and set aside. I then added the minced garlic, cooked for about 30 seconds, and deglazed the pan with 1/2 cup of red wine. I added 14 oz spaghetti sauce to the crockpot, 1 pepper, 1 onion, 8 oz sliced mushrooms, and a healthy pinch of crushed red pepper and 2 teaspoons of Italian seasoning. I then added in the red wine mixture, mixed it all, and added the thighs. I cooked for 5 hours on low, and took out the thighs one hour before finished, removed the meat from the bones, and added back to the crockpot. Once finished, I put it all in a glass pan, topped with shredded mozzarella, and broiled until spotty brown, then served over rigatoni. Okay, I sure made a lot of changes, but it was FABULOUS and will be going in the regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I just wasn't crazy about this. It was ok. I might make it again, if I have all ingredients on hand and need an easy crock pot, weeknight meal, but I think it just lacked something. I sauteed my veggies b/c I prefer them that way in most crock pot dishes...esp the onions. Other than that, I made it just as directed, and it just needed a kick. I added some salt/pepper, and cayenne....but it still just needed a bit of something else. Not bad, just felt like it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I thought this was just okay. I've never made the "real thing", but I'd imagine it's a lot more complicated and this is a simple, quick version of it. I made it exactly as written (couldn't find a 28-oz. jar of pasta sauce, so measured it out from a 45-oz. jar). I cooked it for the full 9 hours, and the sauce came out fairly watery (a common hazard of slow-cooking, I find). I served it over angel-hair pasta, as suggested. It lasted me for six meals. It's easy and fairly healthy, I guess, but it just wasn't all that impressive. I think that a thicker sauce and varied chicken pieces (instead of just 6 breast halves) might have made it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This tasted good but I was really disappointed the sauce was 'watery'. I didn't read reviews prior to making this, I usually don't. I only used 4 breasts and used a 5 qt crockpot which was very full. I didn't have spaghetti so I used fettucine instead. Will try again but will have to do something to make the sauce thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Left the mushrooms out and this was wonderful! Even the 3 yr old loved it!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
My family did not like this at all. They said that the chicken had no flavor and the sauce was soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
A family favorite! Super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Goff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 504) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States