Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I tried this recipe for a Sunday dinner. It was a huge hit. My daughter came home from work just in time to sit down. She remarked that the house smelled good. I used Ragu Tomato and Onion sauce. I was very surprised because I don't usually use jar sauce, but I know that Ragu is one of the better jarred sauces and it was delicious. I will definitely be making this again. I also raved about it to friends at work and they have asked for the recipe. Sharing it today!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Very good! My 3 kids liked it too! I shall keep this one. The only reason I didn't say 5 stars is because it needs just a touch more "zing" to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
It's ok but not very Itlian. I diced 2 skinned chicken breasts then substituted 2-12oz cans of stewed/crushed tomatoes for the jar of sauce. I combined yellow with the green peppers, chopped a large white onion but soaked it in cold water for 1/2 hour (after chopped), chopped 3 cloves of fresh garlic, then added 1/4 cup of dry vermouth (could substitute marsala wine for sweeter taste), then added mushrooms and Italian seasonings. I have a 6 quart Ham-Beach digi pot so added 1/2 cup water to bring everything up within 2 inches of rim then set it on low for 6 hours. Came out pretty nice. (you can substitute veal chunks for the chicken).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mama Mia's Cakes
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This was pretty good and an easy meal to make for busy weeknights. I just seasoned the chicken breast first with salt, pepper, and Italian seasoning before I put it in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Mia's Cakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huber Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Great starter recipe. I had to make modifications based on my crockpot and chicken breasts. I have a large crockpot and only had 1 lb of partially frozen boneless, skinless chicken. This means less cooking time. I used about 1.5 jars of sauce because I like a lot of extra sauce. added a few splashes of red wine and some basil. My chicken reached 160 degrees in 3 hours. I shredded the chicken and threw it back in the pot on warm, for another hour and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dale Elliott Vernal
Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Very good. I however used my homemade sauce, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvstocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I've made this before using the top reviewers suggestions and it's good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This was sensational. I followed a variety of reviews and used frozen, boneless, skinless chicken thighs, went heavy handed on some oregano sprinkles, added in a few shakes of onion flakes, red pepper flakes, garlic powder and a couple heaping spoonfuls of minced garlic from the jar. I used a tomato basil spaghetti sauce along with a can of tomato paste. Used 1/2 of a large green bell pepper (diced), 1/2 of a small yellow onion (diced). I started this all at 6 hours. An hour before dinner time, I added in sliced mushrooms and chopped up a zucchini, threw that in and left the lid off the final 20 minutes and my sauce thickened up very nicely. Seriously, this was so delicious. Served over angel hair pasta, some fresh steamed green beans on the side and a slice of garlic bread. I'm more excited about the left-overs for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry Brayton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmwood Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This is very Good!! I omitted t green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This is a good basic recipe. The addition of crushed red pepper flakes will give it a little more zing. I also add white wine to my recipe. For the people stating that it was watery, it could be because of adding the chicken frozen..it tends to produce water as it thaws! I usually cut up my boneless chicken, season it with salt and pepper and saute it quickly, (I do not completely cook it) to just sear the outside and then add to the crockpot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 499) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States