Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Great starter recipe. I had to make modifications based on my crockpot and chicken breasts. I have a large crockpot and only had 1 lb of partially frozen boneless, skinless chicken. This means less cooking time. I used about 1.5 jars of sauce because I like a lot of extra sauce. added a few splashes of red wine and some basil. My chicken reached 160 degrees in 3 hours. I shredded the chicken and threw it back in the pot on warm, for another hour and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dale Elliott Vernal
Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Very good. I however used my homemade sauce, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvstocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I've made this before using the top reviewers suggestions and it's good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This was sensational. I followed a variety of reviews and used frozen, boneless, skinless chicken thighs, went heavy handed on some oregano sprinkles, added in a few shakes of onion flakes, red pepper flakes, garlic powder and a couple heaping spoonfuls of minced garlic from the jar. I used a tomato basil spaghetti sauce along with a can of tomato paste. Used 1/2 of a large green bell pepper (diced), 1/2 of a small yellow onion (diced). I started this all at 6 hours. An hour before dinner time, I added in sliced mushrooms and chopped up a zucchini, threw that in and left the lid off the final 20 minutes and my sauce thickened up very nicely. Seriously, this was so delicious. Served over angel hair pasta, some fresh steamed green beans on the side and a slice of garlic bread. I'm more excited about the left-overs for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmwood Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This is very Good!! I omitted t green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This is a good basic recipe. The addition of crushed red pepper flakes will give it a little more zing. I also add white wine to my recipe. For the people stating that it was watery, it could be because of adding the chicken frozen..it tends to produce water as it thaws! I usually cut up my boneless chicken, season it with salt and pepper and saute it quickly, (I do not completely cook it) to just sear the outside and then add to the crockpot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I thought this was a little bland. I added more garlic, onions and Italian seasoning, also I like it with bone in chicken pieces and I brown them first,then add to the crockpot. It also needed tomato paste. Mine was done in 7 hours and it was Great! Love the slow cooker method, so easy and we are having a heat wave this week in Eastern Pa. so this worked for me! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I've made this many times--it's delicious, quick, and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I did a test prep yesterday. added 1 can of diced Italian tomatoes w/Basil,garlic,oregano. A little juicy but added Italian seasoned bread crumbs to thicken. Served over linguini...great! Now I will expand the recipe to serve about 50 at a Men's lunch group, using two large slow roaster cookers. Will use a Marinara sauce as well as spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I used thighs and did not thaw them first. Great easy and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tmw2005

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 485) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States