Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
My husband, mother and children loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
So easy. Happened to have all the ingredients too. Could use a little more garlic and to kick up the flavor, perhaps some red pepper flakes or a couple peppers cooking in. But overall a good dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
The first time I made this, I burned it! I put the slow cooker on 'Low' and I knew it was strong, but Wow! We tried to eat it and just could not get passed the burnt flavour... I tried the recipe again and made a few changes - I cubed the chicken, only used 1/2 a bell pepper, used whole canned mushrooms and substitued the onion with a sprinkle of onion powder and the garlic with a sprinkle of garlic powder. AND I put the slow cooker on 'Keep Warm' this time and it came out perfect :) These were all personal substitutes for either foods my husband didn't like added, or just our personal preferences when cooking. It turned out wonderful and I grated some cheddar cheese for on top and that worked out well. One thing I would have changed - I used a jar of Ragu for the sauce base and I think I will use another brand like Hunt's or something. Ragu tends to be a thinner sauce and I would have liked it a bit thicker. So next time I will use a thicker spaghetti sauce and just add little water if necessary. Great, simple recipe for the slow cooker! And wonderful with angel hair pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAYTEKMULTISYNC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This was pretty good. I felt like the green peppers were overwhelming, but that's a personal thing. I threw frozen seasoned chicken breasts, as well as frozen chopped onions and peppers in the crockpot. I played with the seasonings to what we prefer, definitely easy to prepare and great to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I made this as written. It had no flavor at all and was very runny. Also way too long to be cooking the peppers and mushrooms. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This is good, and smells great. It didn't wow me though but I think with some tweaks it could. I would absolutely use bone-in chicken though, versus the boneless breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I really really liked it and all the ingredients are things I usually have on hand. I added alot more seasonings (minced garlic, dried basil leaves, onion powder, and alot of oregano) and it came out delicious. The only reason why I didn't give it a 5 is because I didn't follow what other people said and shredded the chicken. My husband said that if the chicken was shredded it would have been better. I did do it with frozen chicken and let it cook for the 7 hours and the chicken pretty much shredded itself when it was done. I will definately do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I love to make this with some minor variations. First I use about 2 - 3 lbs of chicken legs and thighs to save cost and give it more flavor, Then I add an addition 15 oz can of tomato sauce; Finally about 1 hour before its done I cover the entire mix with a 1 pound box of dry thin spaghetti or fettucini. This will absorb all the excess liquid, while giving the pasta a great taste. Total irresistable - truly a man hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mahwah, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
delicious dinner that was so easy to make. I followed the directions but added some Italian seasonings and 1/4 cup of red wine for flavor. I also used my own homemade sauce. Served it over angel hair pasta. It was a hit and we will definately have it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
My 4 yo daughter and Hubby LOVED this! First let me say - if you are any sort of a cook, this won't be bland as you'd know you would add your own spices to your liking. That being said - I used a plain Trader Joes sauce with no flavoring. I added salt and pepper to my chicken breasts and rubbed it in before putting them in the crock pot. Then I added all ingredients (except I used sweet red bell peppers... makes a HUGE difference) PLUS italian seasoning, garlic powder, chili pepper flakes. 5 hours later when it was done, I took out the chicken breasts, shredded them (SO easy) and put them back. I added some green olive juice (I didnt have enough olives to put in but wanted the flavor) and let it cook another half hour. It was delicious! Served over ziti. It was just like piccata I have eaten out. I dont think I have ever had it with a huge chunk of chicken. The shredding made it easy for my daughter to eat and got the flavor into the chicken peices. Thank you for the healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 480) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States