Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Can't beat the ease of this. Best advice was to add a can of tomato paste to thicken. I think cutting chunks (not finely diced) of onion, mushroom and zucchini made it a meal. Best served with brown rice. Set it at high for 4 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
The recipe is very easy but, a little on the bland side. The sauce was runny as well- not sure if that is because I added a can of tomatoes or what. I think the next time I make this I will add more garlic and fresh basil. All in all it was still a good dinner. I cooked mine on high for 4 hours and the chicken easily cut up but not mushy or shredded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Burlington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I was pleasantly surprised with the flavor payout from this simple recipe. The bulk of my time was spent prepping. I chose to sautee everything before adding it to the crock pot. I think it helped with the veggies. I added carrots and celery, and b/c of my timing they remained just a bit crunchy still. It wasn't a deal breaker though. Browning the chicken was an unnecessary step since it made no difference after sitting in the slow cooker for that long (though still a waste of calories from the oil). I made my own sauce, and found that adding sugar (white) helped with the tartness. I've read that brown sugar works better though. I used a whole chicken cut up...the white parts cooked faster than the dark parts and pieces adjacent the the bone remained a bit undercooked. I think that with more experience with the slow cooker, my technique will improve. B/c the sauce was homemade, I did not find it runny at all. Overall, a good recipe. One thing, my crock pot book says that if you use a frozen bird, make sure to add enough liquid to distribute the heat better. So I guess this recipe is perfect for using a frozen bird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Pretty good. I used 2 lbs. of chicken tenders & a 28 oz can of stewed tomatoes, lots of garlic, about a teaspoon of Italian seasoning,some fresh rosemary, and a few sprinkles of red pepper flakes. At first it was very watery. I added 12 oz of tomato paste to thicken it up & it turned out well in the end. I cooked it for 5 hours on high (my crockpot isn't very hot), and it was done just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Try it with a cut up chicken and see the difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I tried this just this weekend. I had to work all day and was looking for something fabulous that would be done by the time i got home. This recipe is a home run. I made it very close to the recipe, although I added more garlic and less mushrooms.( baby bella's.) I used a Ragu Robusto sauce and I added about a 1/4 cup of wine. I find that frozen chicken breast work well in the crock pot. I used four. According to my husband, it cooked nicely and smelled up the house something wonderful. I asked that he stir it a bit around hour 4 or so. When it was done, I noticed it was a tad runny. (maybe the wine?) I think a thicker sauce would have been better. Because of the consistancy i decided to serve it over some garlic butter rice instead of pasta. Everyone loved it. I will definitely make again. Next time i'll try a thicker sauce and pair with pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheelah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I was not thrilled with this. To me it was not reminiscent of more traditional cacciatore dishes. And I thought it was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I loved it. It was excellent. Easy to prepare and wonderful to eat! It is saved in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Just made this last week and it turned out wonderful. I followed recipe almost exactly but added a few more veggies (yellow peppers/zucchini/red peppers) and it was awesome. Very, very simple to throw together! Cooked on low for almost 10 hours and chicken was really tender. Veggies would have been better had I thrown those in later in the process but they were still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 484) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States