Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This was really good. My husband said that it tasted better the next day. I mixed red and green peppers instead of just green peppers. I made it for 4 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thelma Diekfuss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rumford, Maine, USA
Living In: Zephyrhills, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I made as directed and served over noodles. Good recipe, although next time I will use homemade spaghetti sauce (personal pref). I liked that all the ingredients are staples in my house. Thank you for sharing what will be made often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banshezmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
After not loving it the first time, I used the kmilti review but added the whole pepper and a whole jar of spaghetti sauce (what would I do with the rest?). I like left over sauce and made garlic cheese biscuits to dip in it too. I also only had 2 frozen chicken breast but it worked just fine! Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I altered this quite a bit in the meat and tomato department, but I think the original recipe would be great also. I am not a fan of boneless/skinless breasts or jarred sauce, so I used chicken leg quarters and made my own tomato sauce with a large can of crushed, large can of diced, a can of tomato sauce and a small can of paste. I seasoned the sauce with about 3 Tbs of Italian seasoning, some fresh basil, sea salt and fresh cracked pepper. I mixed the sauce in a seperate bowl before pouring it over the chicken in the crockpot. I also browned the quarters in a bit of oil before placing them in the crockpot, and then sauteed a diced med. onion in the drippings before adding it to the sauce. I used 5 quarters, and had plenty of sauce to cover them fully. Simmered on low for 8 hours, and the meat was fall-off-the-bone tender and juicy, and the sauce was great. I let the kids pick the pasta, and they choose tri-color spirals, which worked great, albeit not very Italian... I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly as it is. It's is very bland and watery. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Great recipe! I gave it 4 stars because I felt like I needed to add more garlic, salt, pepper, basil and oregano for flavor, but it's still such an easy meal and the chicken comes out nice and tender! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This was quite yummy. I did not add the mushrooms because my husband doesn't like them, but it was still yummy. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
It was ok but not something I would make again. Very Bland. Even with adding extra garlic and seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nory143

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Pretty good and easy....I added a little salt, fresh cracked pepper, oregano and dried basil leaves for more flavor. Served over whole grain angel hair pasta and steamed broccoli on the side. I topped mine with some grated romano cheese and hot ted pepper flakes. Next time I will add a can of tomato paste to thicken the sauce and maybe add some wine. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
My husband loved this tonight and went back for 3rds. I also made some homemade bread and this was excellent with the cassiatore. I followed some of the other reviews and added frozen chicken, but they were tenders. I also added chicken broth instead of wine. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 500) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States