Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Very good. I had some extra green peppers, so I decided to give this a try and use them up. I used Prego three-cheese blend pasta sauce and added 1 TBS of oregano to the mix. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out very well. I served it over whole wheat spaghetti and my husband loved it. It's an easy dish to pull together and I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaC108

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I served this over spagettisquash and it was great. Try it instead of pasta or rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nashville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TrangW
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
This was a good start, but added some more items from another that was similar. I didn't have chicken thigh but would like to try ck thigh and breast combo next time. Used 4 cloves of garlic instead of 1 (we love garlic at our house). Added 1/4cup of Italian dressing over the onions & garlic. Added some baby carrots and peas cause I wanted more veggies. Added fresh tomatoes instead of the can. Added a 1tsp of basil with the 1tsp of thyme. Cover for 6 hours on slow and serve with angle pasta noodles. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrangW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
This is a good recipe, I used my homemade sauce and bell peppers from our garden. I make my sauce from scratch and used tomatoes from our garden too. My husband loved it. The timing depends on whether you use frozen chicken breasts or thawed ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
This was good and I will make it again, but it will need some tweaking. The biggest change I will make is to switch out the breasts for thighs. I used big beautiful chicken breasts, and the were kind of wasted in this dish. They didn't come out with any real flavor and they were kind of dry from cooking for 7 hours. I think thighs would at least be more tender and not feel like such a waste because they are cheaper. I think they are actually more traditional in cacciatore anyway. Other than that, I agree with others that it was a little watery, so next time I will cut back on the spaghetti sauce and use a can of tomato paste as recommended. I will also add more herbs (oregano, basil, pepper flakes, etc.) to kick up the flavor, and I will probably add a little red wine close to the end of cooking to add a little extra body. I also think this needs more vegetables, so I will probably add some zucchini, eggplant, carrot, something, to make it more robust. All in all, this is a nice slow cooker option that is great to dip into at the end of the day. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
The recipe as is, isn't very flavorful. I browned my chicken first ad used thighs, both which made it more flavorful, and added some finely diced carrot, celery and yellow pepper. I added basil and oregano to the jar of spaghetti sauce I used. It would have been just as easy to use canned, diced tomatoes. The sauce came out soupy, so next time I would add tomato paste. Cacciatore in the crockpot isn't any faster than cooking it over the stove. The main advantage is that you can start it early if you have something to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Good, not amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Hubby said I have done better. Very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
nothing to write home about - easy, but just OK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Loved this dish. I made it ahead of time and put it in the freezer until I was ready to cook it. It cooked beautifully. It was sooo easy to prepare. My husband accused me of slaving in the kitchen!! He doesn't know the simplicity of it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 500) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States