Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I really really liked it and all the ingredients are things I usually have on hand. I added alot more seasonings (minced garlic, dried basil leaves, onion powder, and alot of oregano) and it came out delicious. The only reason why I didn't give it a 5 is because I didn't follow what other people said and shredded the chicken. My husband said that if the chicken was shredded it would have been better. I did do it with frozen chicken and let it cook for the 7 hours and the chicken pretty much shredded itself when it was done. I will definately do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I love to make this with some minor variations. First I use about 2 - 3 lbs of chicken legs and thighs to save cost and give it more flavor, Then I add an addition 15 oz can of tomato sauce; Finally about 1 hour before its done I cover the entire mix with a 1 pound box of dry thin spaghetti or fettucini. This will absorb all the excess liquid, while giving the pasta a great taste. Total irresistable - truly a man hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mahwah, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
delicious dinner that was so easy to make. I followed the directions but added some Italian seasonings and 1/4 cup of red wine for flavor. I also used my own homemade sauce. Served it over angel hair pasta. It was a hit and we will definately have it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
My 4 yo daughter and Hubby LOVED this! First let me say - if you are any sort of a cook, this won't be bland as you'd know you would add your own spices to your liking. That being said - I used a plain Trader Joes sauce with no flavoring. I added salt and pepper to my chicken breasts and rubbed it in before putting them in the crock pot. Then I added all ingredients (except I used sweet red bell peppers... makes a HUGE difference) PLUS italian seasoning, garlic powder, chili pepper flakes. 5 hours later when it was done, I took out the chicken breasts, shredded them (SO easy) and put them back. I added some green olive juice (I didnt have enough olives to put in but wanted the flavor) and let it cook another half hour. It was delicious! Served over ziti. It was just like piccata I have eaten out. I dont think I have ever had it with a huge chunk of chicken. The shredding made it easy for my daughter to eat and got the flavor into the chicken peices. Thank you for the healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Skelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
great to come home to after a long day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Great recipe, if you add a can of tomato paste it is not as runny, plus i used more garlic and 3 tablespoons of italian seasoning and some parm cheese and its not as bland :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cohoes, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I do add a can of tomato paste to thicken up the sauce a bit and also add some ground oregano. I don't like bell pepper so I skip those. Also I put some Italian cheese mix or mozzarella cheese on top once dished out onto plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I followed one reviewer's suggestion and cut down on the spaghetti sauce, adding 1/2 green and yellow bell peppers and using the spices suggested and it still was very bland and watery. It definitely needs more spaghetti sauce. Don't think'll be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalama, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I'm giving this 4 stars since I found the recipe, chopped the veggies, dropped everything into the slowcooker within 15 minutes. Super easy! Cooked on high for 4.5 hours. Came out pretty good for a last minute supper. Chicken breast where rather dry, but there was plenty of sauce. Served over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I followed reviewer "kmilti " advice. boneless/skinless chicken breasts (frozen), 1/2 ( or 3/4) jar of spaghetti sauce (eye ball it), 1 can tomato paste, 1/2 green bell pepper chopped, 1/2 diced yellow onion, fresh sliced mushrooms, 3 tablespoons fresh garlic, light-medium sprinkle of crushed red pepper flakes, heavy sprinkling of oregano, light-medium spinkle of black pepper (can always add more later), and fresh basil leaves torn up. Cook on low for 7-8 hours. Excellent! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MG

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 141-150 (of 514) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States