Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
My 4 yo daughter and Hubby LOVED this! First let me say - if you are any sort of a cook, this won't be bland as you'd know you would add your own spices to your liking. That being said - I used a plain Trader Joes sauce with no flavoring. I added salt and pepper to my chicken breasts and rubbed it in before putting them in the crock pot. Then I added all ingredients (except I used sweet red bell peppers... makes a HUGE difference) PLUS italian seasoning, garlic powder, chili pepper flakes. 5 hours later when it was done, I took out the chicken breasts, shredded them (SO easy) and put them back. I added some green olive juice (I didnt have enough olives to put in but wanted the flavor) and let it cook another half hour. It was delicious! Served over ziti. It was just like piccata I have eaten out. I dont think I have ever had it with a huge chunk of chicken. The shredding made it easy for my daughter to eat and got the flavor into the chicken peices. Thank you for the healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
great to come home to after a long day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Great recipe, if you add a can of tomato paste it is not as runny, plus i used more garlic and 3 tablespoons of italian seasoning and some parm cheese and its not as bland :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cohoes, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I do add a can of tomato paste to thicken up the sauce a bit and also add some ground oregano. I don't like bell pepper so I skip those. Also I put some Italian cheese mix or mozzarella cheese on top once dished out onto plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I followed one reviewer's suggestion and cut down on the spaghetti sauce, adding 1/2 green and yellow bell peppers and using the spices suggested and it still was very bland and watery. It definitely needs more spaghetti sauce. Don't think'll be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalama, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I'm giving this 4 stars since I found the recipe, chopped the veggies, dropped everything into the slowcooker within 15 minutes. Super easy! Cooked on high for 4.5 hours. Came out pretty good for a last minute supper. Chicken breast where rather dry, but there was plenty of sauce. Served over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I followed reviewer "kmilti " advice. boneless/skinless chicken breasts (frozen), 1/2 ( or 3/4) jar of spaghetti sauce (eye ball it), 1 can tomato paste, 1/2 green bell pepper chopped, 1/2 diced yellow onion, fresh sliced mushrooms, 3 tablespoons fresh garlic, light-medium sprinkle of crushed red pepper flakes, heavy sprinkling of oregano, light-medium spinkle of black pepper (can always add more later), and fresh basil leaves torn up. Cook on low for 7-8 hours. Excellent! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Very nice...very simple. I did, however, make a few changes. I cut the chicken breasts into bite-sized pieces, and added kosher salt, pepper, and some dried sweet basil, marjoram and parsely. The dish was done after cooking about 6 1/2 hours on Low. The chicken was extremely tender and juicy. Thanks for a nice, basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Turned out great, I browned chicken first added onion, garlic and bell pepper. Put this and ingredients into crockpot. I read many years ago to thicken a sauce just take the lid off on the last hour of cooking. I cooked on High for 2 hours and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I followed the recipe, with the exception that I used mushroom gravy mix instead of mushrooms (didn't have any). I also think that I cooked it too long. Regardless, to us it just tasted like chicken spaghetti. Needs something else. Maybe it will be better with other reviewers' modifications and starting with frozen chicken so it doesn't get so overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 501) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States