Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This was so quick and easy and smelled wonderful all day. I used 4 frozen breasts. I added a can of tomato paste about half way through because it was a nit too runny. Turned out great. Thought it was missing something - might try to spice it up more next time. I added about 1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes - but that wasn't enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
This just came out too bland for me. I couldn't quite put my finger on what this was lacking. I might try adding a few more spices (more garlic, some italian seasoning, and maybe a bay leaf or two).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Didn't like it very much, seemed kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
the chicken dries out way too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
UPDATE: MADE THIS AGAIN, BUT THIS TIME I ONLY GARNISHED WITH BASIL, ADDED A CAN OF WELL-DRAINED ITALIAN-SEASONED TOMATOES (IN ADDITION TO THE CHANGES I MADE THE FIRST TIME AROUND) AND COOKED MY (UNFROZEN) CHICKEN ON HIGH FOR 3 HOURS. THIS SEEMS TO BE THE "SOFT SPOT" FOR MY CROCK POT. MY CHICKEN WAS TENDER, JUICY AND OH SO DELISH!!! Meh. I've had better (and more authentic to boot). With kmilti's suggestions for improvement, this has promise. As kmilti did, I too used frozen chicken breasts (only 2 of them since it was just for my fiance & I) and Newman's cabernet marinara with herbs sauce (could not find Classico), added a 6 oz. can of tomato paste, a LOT of fresh garlic, red pepper flakes, oregano, cracked black pepper and several (torn) basil leaves. My only deviation was omitting the mushrooms altogether (we HATE mushrooms!). When I got home from work, my house smelled divine, but to my dismay, this didn't meet my expectations at all. For one, while the basil added nice flavor, I think it would have been better if used as garnish or dropped in the slow cooker right before serving (it was very yucky looking, but what do you expect after it cooked all day???). Second, I prefer to cut my peppers into strips as opposed to chopping them (which I did with excellent results - so I claim all the kudos for that!) Served over bowtie pasta with crusty French bread on the side. I don't think this will be a repeat with me, but thanks for sharing, Rosie. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
My husband, mother and children loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
So easy. Happened to have all the ingredients too. Could use a little more garlic and to kick up the flavor, perhaps some red pepper flakes or a couple peppers cooking in. But overall a good dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
The first time I made this, I burned it! I put the slow cooker on 'Low' and I knew it was strong, but Wow! We tried to eat it and just could not get passed the burnt flavour... I tried the recipe again and made a few changes - I cubed the chicken, only used 1/2 a bell pepper, used whole canned mushrooms and substitued the onion with a sprinkle of onion powder and the garlic with a sprinkle of garlic powder. AND I put the slow cooker on 'Keep Warm' this time and it came out perfect :) These were all personal substitutes for either foods my husband didn't like added, or just our personal preferences when cooking. It turned out wonderful and I grated some cheddar cheese for on top and that worked out well. One thing I would have changed - I used a jar of Ragu for the sauce base and I think I will use another brand like Hunt's or something. Ragu tends to be a thinner sauce and I would have liked it a bit thicker. So next time I will use a thicker spaghetti sauce and just add little water if necessary. Great, simple recipe for the slow cooker! And wonderful with angel hair pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAYTEKMULTISYNC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This was pretty good. I felt like the green peppers were overwhelming, but that's a personal thing. I threw frozen seasoned chicken breasts, as well as frozen chopped onions and peppers in the crockpot. I played with the seasonings to what we prefer, definitely easy to prepare and great to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I made this as written. It had no flavor at all and was very runny. Also way too long to be cooking the peppers and mushrooms. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 485) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States