Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
I really enjoyed this. It was very flavorful. I followed the directions and didn't change anything. I served it over angel hair pasta. We had leftovers and I mixed the pasta and sauce together, put in a casserole dish, topped with cheddar cheese and froze. I think we enjoyed the dish the second time, just as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aileena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guthrie, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Duncan, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Good recipe when you have spaghetti sauce and chicken breasts on hand and don't have much time to get dinner cooked the next day. I only added one green pepper and should have added two as the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Fantastic recipe, and you'd never know how healthy it is! I diced up the bell peppers and onion really finely, because my other half swears he doesn't like either, and they disappeared into the sauce just like I planned - and the other half went back for seconds! Of course, I made a few teeny modifications: I only had two large-ish chicken breasts on hand so that's what I used, but I shredded them into the sauce to stretch them a little further and nobody was the wiser. To keep this recipe from being too similar to another dish I make regularly, I substituted the spaghetti sauce for tomato puree (I dumped a 28oz can of stewed tomatoes into my food processor) and added half a can of tomato paste. I also added a healthy amount of basil, oregano, kosher salt and cracked pepper. I'll be making this again, if for no other reason than to keep sneaking vegetables into our food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Used 7 Drumsticks, 1/2 lb Fresh sliced Mushrooms and 1/2 sliced Onion, 1/2 minced Garlic. All of the Above veggies and mushrooms I sauteed prior to putting into Pot. The rest of Fresh minced Garlic (1/2 clove) I added to the Sauce. I Covered chicken with ALL THE LIQUID completely, by about 1/4 " above it, not more-to prevent THE watery sauce afterward. I only used Pasta sauce-16.5 oz and 1/3 cup of Chicken broth for liquid. The Resulting sauce was very Tasty and great density ! But the Chicken itself was ALMOST TASTELESS. Next day, it tasted better, though. When I Make it NEXT TIME, I WILL SALT THE RAW CHICKEN PIECES PRIOR TO PUTTING THEM INTO THE CROCK POT, for about 30 min. I do the same, when making chicken broth. Another thing I ALTERED, Was the TEMPERATURE REGIME: FIRST I COOKED MY DRUMSTICKS ON HIGH FOR 1.5 HRS and then- on SLOW for 2.5 HRS instead of 7 hrs. I didn't use green peppers. With buttered Da Vinchi Spaghetti it was very good. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I too used 2 jars of sauce..I didn't use the mushrooms since we don't care for them...also added some seasoning to our liking but this recipe was so easy to throw together..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Delicious and will be having again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
It was good, but I probably won't go out of my way to make it again. It needed a little more flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This recipe is great just as it was written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Makes a lot of food. Relatively quick to put together in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
5 stars for easy effort and tasty. Definitely good for the weeknight rotation. I omitted peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 507) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States