Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I am giving this 4 stars since I couldn't make this to letter. I had to sustitute canned tomatoes and stewed tomatoes for the spaghetti sauce. I also left out the mushrooms and green peppers since my hubby isn't a big mushroom and pepper fan. I did put my skinless, boneless chicken in the crockpot straight from the freezer. My chicken was cooked to proper temperature after 7 hours on low, and 2 hours on warm. (My son put the crockpot on warm, per my instructions when he arrived home from school.) The chicken was tender, but not mushy. I walked in the door after work and the house smelled like heaven! We served this over egg noodles, with a fresh garden salad, and italian bread. Great meal for a workday. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I've wanted to make this dish for a long time and was pleased when I found this recipe. I also deeply appreciated the comments/advice from reviewers. It's not authentic at all, but it's a really tasty dish that's super easy to prepare. I followed the suggestions of those who said put the chicken in frozen. Good call! Came out juicy, tender and perfect. When making the dish, be careful which spaghetti sauce you use. Because it's the base, it becomes the dominant flavor. We liked the dish a lot, but next time I think I'll try canned diced or crushed tomatoes and add wine and seasoning myself. May make it taste more authentic and less like jarred sauce with chicken. It's a great foundation of a recipe from which to customize the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Thought this would be a fun and easy twist on regular jar spaghetti. It was not. I made changes as others suggested, tomato paste, oregano, red pepper flakes, etc. Surprisingly it was bland and not something I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Only changed chicken breasts to 2, no green peppers. Agree with other reviews that it was bland and sauce runny. Should have read reviews first. Next time I'd add the tomato paste and seasonings. Wonder why the mushrooms turned very black? Super quick & easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This is so good! Very easy and kept it just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Enola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
The flavor of this dish is dependent upon the quality of the spaghetti sauce you choose. Add some sliced green olives for a tasty twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
So easy to put together and everyone liked it! I did shred chicken at the end. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Delicious and easy. Picky husband enjoyed. I had chicken legs that were chewy when grilled and didn't know what to do with remaining as it was too much for one meal. Placed legs on bottom of crockpot and added a couple boneless breasts cut into thick pieces. I realized I was out of sauce so I used a 14.5 oz. diced tomatoes and small can of tomato paste (based on other recommendations). Not too watery at all. Used frozen diced bell peppers and the other ingredients in recipe. I also added Italian seasoning, basil, oregano, black pepper as well as the minced garlic. You can use any seasoning you like. I added a little crushed red pepper to mine as I like things spicy but family does not. Tender meat fell off the bone. Served over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This was good. I would have never thought to do Chicken Cacciatore in the crock pot. I did add garlic and onions to the recipe and I used fire roasted red pepper sauce, and a sm can of crushed roasted red pepper tomatoes. I also omitted the noodle and poured it over white rice. It was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A Classic!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Can't beat the ease of this. Best advice was to add a can of tomato paste to thicken. I think cutting chunks (not finely diced) of onion, mushroom and zucchini made it a meal. Best served with brown rice. Set it at high for 4 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 493) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States