Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Fantastic recipe, and you'd never know how healthy it is! I diced up the bell peppers and onion really finely, because my other half swears he doesn't like either, and they disappeared into the sauce just like I planned - and the other half went back for seconds! Of course, I made a few teeny modifications: I only had two large-ish chicken breasts on hand so that's what I used, but I shredded them into the sauce to stretch them a little further and nobody was the wiser. To keep this recipe from being too similar to another dish I make regularly, I substituted the spaghetti sauce for tomato puree (I dumped a 28oz can of stewed tomatoes into my food processor) and added half a can of tomato paste. I also added a healthy amount of basil, oregano, kosher salt and cracked pepper. I'll be making this again, if for no other reason than to keep sneaking vegetables into our food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I HAVE NOT YET FINISHED MAKING THE RECIPE. FOR THE START, I WISH THE RECIPE WOULD INDICATE THE VOLUME CAPACITY FOR Slow Cooker. It is a good Basic recipe. I HAVE A 4 QT manual crock pot. HERE ARE SOME CHANGES I MADE TO THE RECIPE: 1. Used 7 Drumsticks, 1/2 lb Fresh sliced Mushrooms and 1/2 sliced Onion, 1/2 minced Garlic. All of the Above veggies and mushrooms I sauteed prior to putting into Pot. The rest of Fresh minced Garlic (1/2 clove) I added to the Sauce. I Covered chicken with ALL THE LIQUID completely, by about 1/4 " above it, not more-to prevent THE watery sauce afterward. I only used Pasta sauce-16.5 oz and 1/3 cup of Chicken broth for liquid. The Resulting sauce was very Tasty and great density ! But the Chicken itself was ALMOST TASTELESS. Next day, it tasted better, though. When I Make it NEXT TIME, I WILL SALT THE RAW CHICKEN PIECES PRIOR TO PUTTING THEM INTO THE CROCK POT, for about 30 min. I do the same, when making chicken broth. Another thing I ALTERED, Was the TEMPERATURE REGIME: FIRST I COOKED MY DRUMSTICKS ON HIGH FOR 1.5 HRS and then- on SLOW for 2.5 HRS instead of 7 hrs. I didn't use green peppers. With buttered Da Vinchi Spaghetti it was very good. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I too used 2 jars of sauce..I didn't use the mushrooms since we don't care for them...also added some seasoning to our liking but this recipe was so easy to throw together..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Delicious and will be having again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
It was good, but I probably won't go out of my way to make it again. It needed a little more flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This recipe is great just as it was written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Makes a lot of food. Relatively quick to put together in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
5 stars for easy effort and tasty. Definitely good for the weeknight rotation. I omitted peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I'd make this again. I added Italian seasoning, garlic salt and onion powder and served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Yum! Quick & easy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 505) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States