Slow Cooker Chicken and Sausage Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
This is worthy of ten stars. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Although I don't make gumbo often, I can't imagine a better one. We all had seconds, including my six year old grandson. I served it with scalloped sweet potatoes and apples. It was a perfect meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I love this. It was full of great taste and consistency. I served it over white rice cooked with chicken broth. This is a "do over".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
My first experience with Gumbo and it was excellent . I had to use canned okra as no fresh was available. It was a little to hot for my taste, but I may have been a little heavy handed with the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This was such a delicious dish! However, the first time I made the roux, I burnt it (even though I followed recipe's directions). After searching around the internet on how to make roux, I discovered it's not always the easiest thing to make. When I tried again, I didn't cook it the full 15 mins as recipe says - I probably only cooked for 8 mins on medium (after having cooked on med-high for 3 mins). Then, when I took off the burner to cool, I kept whisking for a while to ensure it didn't continue to cook without being stirred (running risk of burning). So, for newbies like me, I would've appreciated more direction on how to make the roux. But, I definitely still give the recipe 5 stars!! It was SO good and is now a family favorite that we'll make often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nelly Felly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Excellent recipe. I had leftover BBQ chicken that added an awesome smoked flavor to the gumbo. Thanks for the slow cooked version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LALAWLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taylor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
So good! I used 2 cups chicken broth and 1 cup beer instead of water. Added creole seasoning to taste with seasoned salt and pepper. Also, instead of chicken I added cooked cocktail shrimp about 4 hours before serving. Served over rice with hot cornbread.n yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Gail Dolenski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
My family LOVES it! I use chicken broth instead of water & add rotel tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momlady6
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This was really good! I had some leftover Lil' Smokies from Superbowl and I had no idea what to do with them all. Well this recipe solved that problem. I browned the sliced up smokies really well, we like ours crispy. I followed the recipe exactly and DH wants me to make it again. (And I thought I was just using up leftovers with this one) Next time I will use some good smoked sausage, but other than that it stays the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Great recipe. I added a diced jalapeno for some more heat and bought file powder online to serve with it, and imo it just takes it to another level. Secret to roux, low and slow, and never stop stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States