Slow Cooker Chicken and Sausage Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
This recipe was supper easy and tasted delicious. Yummy, yummy, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Gumbo...the best way to eliminate leftovers. I use this recipe every 2-3 weeks to empty the fridge. I keep frozen okra on hand, always add the onions, garlic and usually celery, then add whatever vegetables and meats I need to get rid of. It comes out perfect every time. I also add the peppers while cooking the roux and if there's time cook the okra to draw the juice (whatever you want to call the stuff inside that people hate okra for) out. This will thicken the finished product a little more. We love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Amazed! This gumbo was the closest I've come to a gumbo I had 20 years ago at a Thanksgiving (N.O. style) feast. I've used Zatarain's gumbo mix for years. I couldn't find it in the stores and decided to try this one (I always look for slow cooker recipes first). I am not a fan of okra so I used lots of carrots. Other than that I stayed true to the recipe. I tend to look for a balance of flavor in my meals. This gumbo was just right. Even the cayenne pepper was perfect for my taste. Thank you for sharing. This was one of my best finds this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dabeau1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I made some changes based on some of the reviews. Instead of water I use 4 cups of chicken broth (I added an extra cup as I was adding more things) I cubed 2 large chicken breasts.. seemed more like 2 cups than 1.5 cups as the recipe calls for) I did choose to lightly precook these with a few twist of the pepper mill and salt mill (cooking things with out any seasoning is just evil in my opinion) I sliced an entire smoked kielbasa (seemed more like 2 cups) I added 7 enormous raw shrimp. I used 2 bags of frozen vegetable gumbo mix instead of fresh. I used a teaspoon of Old Bay and a packet of Sazon seasoning (http://www.goya.com/english/product_subcategory/condiments/sazon-bouillon) I use the one with the salt but there is a no salt version for you healthy folk :) It looks good so far.. Can't wait for dinner :) K - so I made it it and it smelled great but it was to greasy and it was completely my fault. The chicken stock I used needed diluted with some beer or water.. :( IT was still VERY TASTY but next time I will adjust.. thinking 2/3 beer and 1/3 stock..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I love being able to use my slow cooker whenever possible. That being said, I was eager to try out a gumbo recipe involving a slow cooker. I followed the recipe for the most part, but I didn't precook the chicken. I cubed it, and threw it in with the rest of the ingredients. For the smoked sausage, I used Andouille, of course. The end result was good, but a bit bland. I'm not sure what it was missing. It was still good, and edible. The fiance was a bit disappointed in the vegetable/meat ratio, but he still managed to eat it. I'd probably try this again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I LOVE this recipe!!! It was amazing. My family was so happy. Thank you so much for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
First time gumbo. It was ok but a bit bland. I will add some jalepeños and stewed tomatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
It wasn't terrible, but the results were far from the type of gumbo I am used to. The only flavor there was to this was "hot."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetjunkie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Good start! But as with any dish, be flexible! I added more veggies, like corn and small red beans, plus a dash of clove, allspice and some bay leaves. May use chicken broth next time. I served it over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I rated this low because from all the reviews I expected it to be very flavorful, but I was really disappointed. I had contemplated added other seasoning than the ones in the recipe but I didn't and I really which I had. It tasted mostly like the roux which is basically flour. I didn't use celery because we weren't big celery fans but I did supplement it with some celery flakes. I also added 4 jalapeno peppers (which I recommend if you like a little more spice). I might make this again with major alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States