Slow Cooker Chicken and Sausage Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I never had the pleasure of eating gumbo until my sexy and talented cook of a boyfriend made this for me. This recipe is delicious as is, no changes made to the original! This is great on a cold fall day or during Mardi Gras! I love this recipe!! 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This was delicious for to be made in the slow cooker. I used butter instead of vegetable oil for the roux and I think that did the trick. I also didn't use cooked chicken, 7 hours in the crock pot was plenty of time for the chicken to cook so I didn't see the need. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This was good and I will make again but next time not so HOT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Although I don't make gumbo often, I can't imagine a better one. We all had seconds, including my six year old grandson. I served it with scalloped sweet potatoes and apples. It was a perfect meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
My first experience with Gumbo and it was excellent . I had to use canned okra as no fresh was available. It was a little to hot for my taste, but I may have been a little heavy handed with the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This was such a delicious dish! However, the first time I made the roux, I burnt it (even though I followed recipe's directions). After searching around the internet on how to make roux, I discovered it's not always the easiest thing to make. When I tried again, I didn't cook it the full 15 mins as recipe says - I probably only cooked for 8 mins on medium (after having cooked on med-high for 3 mins). Then, when I took off the burner to cool, I kept whisking for a while to ensure it didn't continue to cook without being stirred (running risk of burning). So, for newbies like me, I would've appreciated more direction on how to make the roux. But, I definitely still give the recipe 5 stars!! It was SO good and is now a family favorite that we'll make often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nelly Felly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Excellent recipe. I had leftover BBQ chicken that added an awesome smoked flavor to the gumbo. Thanks for the slow cooked version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LALAWLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taylor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I love this. It was full of great taste and consistency. I served it over white rice cooked with chicken broth. This is a "do over".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
So good! I used 2 cups chicken broth and 1 cup beer instead of water. Added creole seasoning to taste with seasoned salt and pepper. Also, instead of chicken I added cooked cocktail shrimp about 4 hours before serving. Served over rice with hot cornbread.n yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Gail Dolenski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
My family LOVES it! I use chicken broth instead of water & add rotel tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momlady6

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States