Slow Cooker Chicken and Sausage Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I never had the pleasure of eating gumbo until my sexy and talented cook of a boyfriend made this for me. This recipe is delicious as is, no changes made to the original! This is great on a cold fall day or during Mardi Gras! I love this recipe!! 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This was delicious for to be made in the slow cooker. I used butter instead of vegetable oil for the roux and I think that did the trick. I also didn't use cooked chicken, 7 hours in the crock pot was plenty of time for the chicken to cook so I didn't see the need. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This was good and I will make again but next time not so HOT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Although I don't make gumbo often, I can't imagine a better one. We all had seconds, including my six year old grandson. I served it with scalloped sweet potatoes and apples. It was a perfect meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
My first experience with Gumbo and it was excellent . I had to use canned okra as no fresh was available. It was a little to hot for my taste, but I may have been a little heavy handed with the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This was such a delicious dish! However, the first time I made the roux, I burnt it (even though I followed recipe's directions). After searching around the internet on how to make roux, I discovered it's not always the easiest thing to make. When I tried again, I didn't cook it the full 15 mins as recipe says - I probably only cooked for 8 mins on medium (after having cooked on med-high for 3 mins). Then, when I took off the burner to cool, I kept whisking for a while to ensure it didn't continue to cook without being stirred (running risk of burning). So, for newbies like me, I would've appreciated more direction on how to make the roux. But, I definitely still give the recipe 5 stars!! It was SO good and is now a family favorite that we'll make often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nelly Felly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Excellent recipe. I had leftover BBQ chicken that added an awesome smoked flavor to the gumbo. Thanks for the slow cooked version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LALAWLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taylor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I love this. It was full of great taste and consistency. I served it over white rice cooked with chicken broth. This is a "do over".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
So good! I used 2 cups chicken broth and 1 cup beer instead of water. Added creole seasoning to taste with seasoned salt and pepper. Also, instead of chicken I added cooked cocktail shrimp about 4 hours before serving. Served over rice with hot cornbread.n yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Gail Dolenski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
My family LOVES it! I use chicken broth instead of water & add rotel tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momlady6

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States