Slow Cooker Chicken and Sausage Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Yummy! Added an additional can of kidney beans and a can of tomato sauce, along with some miced garlic. I subbed ground turkey for ground chicken. So became a complete turkey chili! ANy type of chili is good right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Excellent chili. I made only a few modifications to the recipe. I used ground turkey instead of the ground chicken, and turkey sausage. I used regular diced tomatoes instead of stewed. I added an extra can of seasoned chili beans and a bit of extra hot sauce. I served over rice with shredded cheese on top. It went over very well and I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Oh my goodness, if I could give more stars I would! This was spectacular!! I followed the recipe closely. I did omit the beans, my husband refuses to eat them. I used 2 sweet italian sausages and 2 hot italian sausages, I often mix them in recipes. Also I used 2 chicken breasts partially cooked then cut tiny. I had everything else in the slow cooker on high until I put the meat in. Then I put everything in at the same time and let it slow cook for 5hr - my whole place smelled so good all day and everyone was eager for supper that night!! This didn't disappoint anyone - we served over white rice cooked with beef broth. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This was excellent! I actually forgot that it was a slow-cooker recipe, so by the time I realized that it was and I needed to make it that day, I didn't have much time. So, I did it on the stove and simmered everything for about an hour and a half. The flavors are delicious! I think it is my favorite chili recipe I've tried. I will definitely make again (and try the slow cooker!) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Let me start with the fact that this chili recipe won me the chili cookoff at work...so its pretty great, but the only few things I changed were; I boiled chicken breasts and then shredded them before adding to the chili (instead of using ground chicken, much better IMO), I used an additional teaspoon of hot sauce and 1/2 teaspoon of chili powder as it wasn't hot enough for my taste, and I also added some fresh parsley and cumin. Definitely a great chicken variation of chili that many people have never tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This was great. The only changes I made was I used whole chicken breasts and then cut them up very fine. I also cooked it for five hours on high, straight through, rather than changing the temp at certain times. I just don't have time for all that. I also put everything in the slow cooker at the same time, rather than spaced out. With these changes, and served on rice, it was splendid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet's girl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Used extra lean ground chix breast and hot turkey sausage...I browned both of these with onions and garlic and the chili spices... I did assemble this chili the night before and cooked on low the day of. I also added a diced sweet red pepper and a diced zuchinni to amp up the veggies... this was a very tasty chili and we loved it. I love to use leaner meats and try to use them instead of beef and pork. You do not miss out on any flavor here with the leaner chicken and turkey meats. Leftovers in the freezer...will most def. make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was so delicious! I found it to be a little watery so next time I will drain the tomatoes. My boyfriend wasn't a fan of the chunky tomatoes so I'm going to use diced tomatoes instead of stewed next time. I will also add another can of kidney beans. The flavor was amazing and it tasted even better warmed up the next day. Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I made this chili exactly as the recipe stated. My husband, two teenagers, and I agreed that this recipe had way too much of a tomato taste. With 3 cans of stewed tomatoes and 2 cans of tomato paste, it's no wonder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
this is a great chili variation....made this for the wife and we loved it....added some shredded cheddar, sour cream, and green onions on the top and it's a great hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States