Slow Cooker Chicken and Sausage Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Too sweet and tomato-ey. Not enough "chili" flavors. You could end up with a similar result by adding chicken to Campbell's soup out of the can. My family did not enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Super, super yum. Traded ground turkey for the chicken and left out the chili and cayenne powders but otherwise made as directed. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Electric Daisy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was so delicious! I found it to be a little watery so next time I will drain the tomatoes. My boyfriend wasn't a fan of the chunky tomatoes so I'm going to use diced tomatoes instead of stewed next time. I will also add another can of kidney beans. The flavor was amazing and it tasted even better warmed up the next day. Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Let me start with the fact that this chili recipe won me the chili cookoff at work...so its pretty great, but the only few things I changed were; I boiled chicken breasts and then shredded them before adding to the chili (instead of using ground chicken, much better IMO), I used an additional teaspoon of hot sauce and 1/2 teaspoon of chili powder as it wasn't hot enough for my taste, and I also added some fresh parsley and cumin. Definitely a great chicken variation of chili that many people have never tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Used extra lean ground chix breast and hot turkey sausage...I browned both of these with onions and garlic and the chili spices... I did assemble this chili the night before and cooked on low the day of. I also added a diced sweet red pepper and a diced zuchinni to amp up the veggies... this was a very tasty chili and we loved it. I love to use leaner meats and try to use them instead of beef and pork. You do not miss out on any flavor here with the leaner chicken and turkey meats. Leftovers in the freezer...will most def. make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I made this chili exactly as the recipe stated. My husband, two teenagers, and I agreed that this recipe had way too much of a tomato taste. With 3 cans of stewed tomatoes and 2 cans of tomato paste, it's no wonder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
REALLY GOOD! Spices are just right - not too hot, nor bland. I added a can of corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Excellent chili. I made only a few modifications to the recipe. I used ground turkey instead of the ground chicken, and turkey sausage. I used regular diced tomatoes instead of stewed. I added an extra can of seasoned chili beans and a bit of extra hot sauce. I served over rice with shredded cheese on top. It went over very well and I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Oh my goodness, if I could give more stars I would! This was spectacular!! I followed the recipe closely. I did omit the beans, my husband refuses to eat them. I used 2 sweet italian sausages and 2 hot italian sausages, I often mix them in recipes. Also I used 2 chicken breasts partially cooked then cut tiny. I had everything else in the slow cooker on high until I put the meat in. Then I put everything in at the same time and let it slow cook for 5hr - my whole place smelled so good all day and everyone was eager for supper that night!! This didn't disappoint anyone - we served over white rice cooked with beef broth. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States