Slow Cooker Chicken and Sausage Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
My husband says it needs more of something; it's too saucy. Pasta, he said. I used beef base instead of beef cubes, turkey Italian sausage and cooked it on the stove top for 1-1/2 hours. Had to add chicken broth. It's passable - hubby said he doesn't want to see it again in the near future, like 6-8 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This was the best chili I ever made. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vbueno

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This was ok. My husband liked it better than I did. It has a very distinct tomato taste. There's 3 cans of tomatoes and 2 cans of tomato paste which overpower the chili. It also was bland with just the spices listed. I added an additional tbl. of chili powder to enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Good recipe, but has too much tomato in it. Next time, I would eliminate one can of stewed tomatoes, and probably one can of tomato past as well. Tasted more like a meat sauce than a chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I made this recipe exactly as stated. It is very good and has a great flavor, but I was surprised this chili did not have cumin in it. The consistency reminded me more of tomato sauce rather than chili, but the flavor was excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This was amazing! Used ground Turkey instead of Chicken and added cumin, minced garlic, a can of black beas and some frozen corn.. It was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Tried this recipe today. Of course I cannot follow a recipe so here are the changes I made. Omit the brown sugar, used homemade beef broth (beef cubes are nothing but salt), used hot paprika, cumin, 2/3 can of rotell tomato with peppers, about 4 oz of tomato paste, 1 plus cup of pressure cooked black and pinto beans,1 one pound can of petite diced tomatoes, sliced thin chicken breast (uncooked), used link Italian sausage (it is what I had on hand), 1 cup of black and tan beer and fresh cilantro to garnish. I also used a large white onion. Other than that I didn't change the ingredients. But everything in the crock pot on low for 8 hours. I added more beef broth at the end because I decided I wanted it to be a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Good base recipe. Most people tailor it to their own family. I used diced tomatoes with mild green chiles added. Used tomato sauce as I had to omitt the beer or my wife wouldn't have touched it. Used 1 lb of chicken breast cubed. Didn't add the hot sauce as I had added green chiles. The Italian sausage had 3 kinds of cheese added, a nice touch. Browned all meats separately with onions added. Used Black, chili, and kidney beans. Drained everything, including tomatoes. Doubled seasonings other than hot sauce . . .turned out great !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wild_bill_hiccup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Incorporated several ingredient modifications found here: fire roasted diced tomatoes, can of green chilies, half sweet/half hot italian sausage, half amount of tomato paste. Delicious. Won first place in work chili cookoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Excellent and very easy to do. Used ground turkey in place of chicken, and used 1-1/4 lbs of susage. Also added one small can of chopped chiles. Next time, and there will be a next time, I will increase chili powder to one teaspoon maybe more and decrease brown sugar to 3/4 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States