Slow Cooker Chicken and Sausage Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This was ok. My husband liked it better than I did. It has a very distinct tomato taste. There's 3 cans of tomatoes and 2 cans of tomato paste which overpower the chili. It also was bland with just the spices listed. I added an additional tbl. of chili powder to enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Good recipe, but has too much tomato in it. Next time, I would eliminate one can of stewed tomatoes, and probably one can of tomato past as well. Tasted more like a meat sauce than a chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I made this recipe exactly as stated. It is very good and has a great flavor, but I was surprised this chili did not have cumin in it. The consistency reminded me more of tomato sauce rather than chili, but the flavor was excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This was amazing! Used ground Turkey instead of Chicken and added cumin, minced garlic, a can of black beas and some frozen corn.. It was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Tried this recipe today. Of course I cannot follow a recipe so here are the changes I made. Omit the brown sugar, used homemade beef broth (beef cubes are nothing but salt), used hot paprika, cumin, 2/3 can of rotell tomato with peppers, about 4 oz of tomato paste, 1 plus cup of pressure cooked black and pinto beans,1 one pound can of petite diced tomatoes, sliced thin chicken breast (uncooked), used link Italian sausage (it is what I had on hand), 1 cup of black and tan beer and fresh cilantro to garnish. I also used a large white onion. Other than that I didn't change the ingredients. But everything in the crock pot on low for 8 hours. I added more beef broth at the end because I decided I wanted it to be a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Good base recipe. Most people tailor it to their own family. I used diced tomatoes with mild green chiles added. Used tomato sauce as I had to omitt the beer or my wife wouldn't have touched it. Used 1 lb of chicken breast cubed. Didn't add the hot sauce as I had added green chiles. The Italian sausage had 3 kinds of cheese added, a nice touch. Browned all meats separately with onions added. Used Black, chili, and kidney beans. Drained everything, including tomatoes. Doubled seasonings other than hot sauce . . .turned out great !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wild_bill_hiccup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Incorporated several ingredient modifications found here: fire roasted diced tomatoes, can of green chilies, half sweet/half hot italian sausage, half amount of tomato paste. Delicious. Won first place in work chili cookoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Excellent and very easy to do. Used ground turkey in place of chicken, and used 1-1/4 lbs of susage. Also added one small can of chopped chiles. Next time, and there will be a next time, I will increase chili powder to one teaspoon maybe more and decrease brown sugar to 3/4 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Absolutely phenomenal! I tweeked it some, as I do with every recipe. Instead of tomato paste, I use tomato sauce, and added an additional can, alonf with a can of black beans, and a can of sweet corn. On all the spices, I doubled it! (LOVE ME SOME SPICES!) Also, my husband hates beer in his food, so I used beef broth instead and used a little extra. The meat I use if ground turkey and mild sausage. VERY filling meal, and my hubby actually likes it! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This chili is really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States