Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Super easy and inexpensive. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I normally don't like things with cream of chicken soup in them but this one was good! I did like other reviewers suggested and substituted chicken broth for water and it made the dish a lot more flavorful. I just added my water and a spoon full of chicken stock and it really added to the dish. I also added some celery and carrots. Follow the other reviews when it says to cook the dumpling for about an hour to an hour and a half. My Husband rated this dish a 9 out of 10. I will be making this again! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTGerl112

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Instead of the store bought dough, I use 1 cup jiffy baking mix and 1/3 cup milk mixed and then dropped into the slow cooker at the specified time. It is critical to ensure the dumplings are completely submerged. Also, I prefer using low sodium chicken broth instead of the water. My whole family loves this dish and it is so easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
When we walked into the house my 6 year old said,"Yuck! What's that smell?" I had to open all the windows and air out the house. He wouldn't go near it on his dinner plate and made me promise to never make it again. I admit it did not smell good. My husband wouldn't touch it. I ate some but it was not great. Super disappointed because this recipe got so many good reviews. Never again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robie Leonardi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I thought this was really good. Did use broth and seasoned with cumin, salt and parsley flakes. Soooo Easy!. Loved that aspect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dickson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
loved the recipes. Husband loved it also. making it again this week for my daughter and boyfriend for dinner. I did use mixed vegatables and chicken broth instead of water. The chicken came out so tender. The house smelled good while it was cooking and the meal tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This was excellent! I read the reviews and followed some advice. I used one 14 oz can of chicken broth in place of the water. I let the chicken cook down in the crock pot and instead of cutting it up, shredded it. I put the onion in, and also added celery and a bag of frozen corn! I didn't have issues with the biscuits cooking. Turned out amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Very good and yes I made a few changes (just because of mine and my family's preferences). I added salt, pepper, and garlic powder to the chicken breasts first. Then I added (1) can of chicken broth instead of water and (2) can's of cream of chicken soup. Cooked on high the first hour then low for 5 hours, took the chicken out shredded it added it back in and dropped the biscuits in and cooked on high for another 1 1/2 - 2 hours. We all LOVED it. Thanks for the recipe idea!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I did try this recipe and it was good. My husband said that it needed some vegetables. Perhaps the next time, I will add some with the biscuits. We only used 1 can of biscuits and I cooked it on low because I knew I would be gone longer than 5-6 hrs. I had my husband add the dumplings because he got home first. I will definitely be making this again, but will add more water/broth due to the extra cooking time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 5,610) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States