Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
My family loves this recipe! I have made it so many times, especially through the winter. I don't know if I have a super quick crock pot, but it only takes about 3-3.5 hours on high for it to be done. Like other reviewers, I add some spices, otherwise it is kind of bland: cumin, paprika, poultry seasoning, onion powder. I also use 1 can cream of chicken and 1 can cream of potato instead of 2 cans cream of chicken. Today I am making it, and I am experimenting with a whole can of chicken broth bc last time the leftovers really thickened up, but was fine once I added chicken broth to reheat it. Highly suggest this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Anne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
This was amazing! Added the biscuit dough a little earlier than the recipe said but I don't think it makes a difference! It was absolutely de-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Mitchell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
I haven't made this yet, but I've seen many people upset because people have posted the changes they made. Some have made many changes. I appreciate those reviews. There is nothing wrong with taking a great recipe foundation and make it your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2015
I used 1 tube of biscuit dough. Did not use water- made chicken broth. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
This recipe was so delicious! I used croissant dough and it was amazing! A super easy, must try recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Changed the soup to golden mushroom soup to accommodate dairy allergies in the house. Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
Flavor is excellent! I will use frozen dumplings next time because the torn biscuits were uncooked in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
This actually turned out 5 stars, but I made several changes, based on the other reviews I read. I used just 1/2 an onion, chicken broth along with water, chicken bouillon, celery salt, and thyme. Oh and I used just 1 of the grand butter biscuits (16 oz) instead of the 2 10 ounce. The 16 oz was almost too much. It's nice that's its pretty easy, I flattened and cut the biscuits into small pieces and they still took about 2 hrs to cook through. This turned out VERY delicious, my 'particular' husband even loved it! I will definitely make it again and I'm sure will be even better in the fall and winter. This is a must try, and tailor it to your own tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
My dumplings didn't cook right, but the chicken was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
This is one of my favorites. I use chicken breasts that I cut into smaller chunks first, and sear in a pan for some color before I put in the crock pot. I use chicken broth instead of water. I sometimes add extra vegetables. Carrots with the onions, and later some sauted mushrooms and / or celery. I season with some garlic powder and a few dashes of hot sauce (I prefer Cholula). Finally, I press out the biscuit dough to thin it out and cut into strips that I place on top for the last hour of cooking. One of the reasons I remake this often is it freezes well. I don't normally like leftovers, but this works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 6,011) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Leftover Pizza Breakfast Casserole

Combine two classic favorites - breakfast and pizza - for a new morning favorite!

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States