Slow Cooker Cheese Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I used a Swiss-American cheese slices on top of these sandwiches as that's what my favorite cheese steak food stand guy tells me to use. I also spread some garlic-butter on the rolls and toasted them slightly before topping them with the cheese-steak mixture. Other than that, I pretty much kept to the recipe. This is good but it's missing something. I'm not sure what it is, I'm going to make this again and play with the recipe a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andrea
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Very good! I definitely would read the first review from the owner of this recipe. I used a 2.6 lb trip tip steak and it was way overcooked after 4 hours. Next time I will do only 3 hours. I also made sure to add the 1 T of red wine vinegar that was suppose to be listed in the recipe. The white American cheese was so good on this! And definitely put two slices of cheese on each sandwich because once it melts you will want extra! Thanks for sharing a great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
My boyfriend loved this! Be sure to ask your butcher if tri tip steak is available - it wasn't at our store, and the butcher was able to suggest a different cut. We left out the mushrooms (he's not a fan of them), but I will definitely add them to mine next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This is my recipe and seasoning the meat kind of goes without saying for me - sorry I left it out of the recipe to salt and pepper it. I guess it is just something I do naturally. With all slow cooker recipes where you are using meat - to get the most flavor sear the meat first on the stove. I do this for this recipe when I have more time, but it still works and is flavorful without searing. Be careful with the salt as the stock will be salty too, but do season with salt for more depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
My husband and I found this dish rather bland. I was a bit concerned about this seeing that it called for no seasoning on the meat or the veggies, so I even added salt and pepper to the grilled veggies. We also used pepper jack cheese and used the leftover broth for dipping but overall the sandwiches just seemed lacking in flavor. If I were to make this again, I would brown the meat first with some garlic salt and pepper and maybe even some flour and then place in crock pot. I find from making roasts in the past with tri tip that this tends to seal in the juices. Definitely found 3.5 hours was plenty of time for the meat. It was still pretty tender (not chewy thankfully) but already dry and cooked through. I think the leftovers are going to make some awesome fajitas tomorrow, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Very Yummy! I used 3.5 pounds of tri tip steak to feed 8 & doubled the rest! It was loved by the adults as well as the kiddos! My husband asked this recipe to be a part of the monthly menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ekadams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This was freaking delicious! I cooked the meat exactly 3 hours and it was nice and juicy. Omitted the peppers since my husband doesn't like them and I added Worcester to the mushrooms and onions. It was also easy to make which is great for me since I usually can't cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I read a few of the reviews before starting this recipe because I wanted to improve the taste and texture of the tri tip steak. Lightly sprinkle (no more than 2 tsp.) of Montreal Steak seasoning as a rub before searing the meat in a 2-3 qt. pot (or use 10-inch skillet with lid). I try not use more than 1-2 tbl. of olive oil when searing. After searing, transfer meat to slow cooker. Meanwhile turn off heat to searing pot and add beef stock to soften up all the leftover meat/seasoning pieces. Whisk in vinegar and worcester sauce then add stock mixture to slow cooker. I added raw, sliced onions mushrooms and peppers directly on top of meat before covering and slow cooking. After 2-3 hours I removed meat to let cool before slicing and returning to slow cooker. I grilled the sliced sandwich buns. With slotted spoon I transferred meat/veggie mixture to each open-faced bun then added the cheese (it melts on the heated meat mixture but you can also melt it in the broiler. I ladled out remaining juices (I didn't strain it) in dipping bowls to serve on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
this is my first review after making several things on this website. This sandwich is great! My husband accidently grabbed beef stock instead of chicken, so i put beef stock in the ingredient finder and this looked good. the beef is super easy to cook since it's in a crockpot and cooking the veggies only takes a few minutes. I don't even eat beef but had to try one of these after they came out of the oven and looked so delicious! only change i made was to use provolone cheese instead of american. Wonderful recipe, will absolutely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Well, I tried this and it was not to my liking! The meat was dry, tough and tasteless. I made only two sandwiches and couldn't eat more. Don't make this just go to a good sub shop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Halifax, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cheese Steaks

The slow cooker is the best way to make perfectly tender cheese steaks.

Slow Cooker Macaroni and Cheese

Just set it and forget it. Come home to cheesy comfort food in your crock pot.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States