Slow Cooker Cheese Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I gave 5-stars because the entire family liked this one. Only substitutes I made were sirloin steak and grated italian cheese, simply because that's what I had on hand. And I put open-faced under broiler instead of wrapping in tin foil because we like the toasted bread, but I think would be good either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Everything was just perfect!! Great recipe and so very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
This was wonderful! The down-side for me was that my local markets didn't carry the cut of meat suggested. So I wound up with a tougher piece of meat and that made the sandwich hard to chew, especially for my kids. Next time I do this I will have to find a meat market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Will be adding some more spices next time as I felt it needed some pepper at least. But I did enjoy the flavor, and oh yes, I served it on Focaccia bread. MMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Very good,will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
These turned out really good. My steak was a little over-done; my pieces must have been too small (bought pre-sliced at the grocer). My mushrooms were no good, so I had to ix-nay them; used green and red bells. Also used Swiss cheese instead of American, and buttered the rolls with melted, salted butter before I topped them. All in all, a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilmisjaqui

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I read a few of the reviews before starting this recipe because I wanted to improve the taste and texture of the tri tip steak. Lightly sprinkle (no more than 2 tsp.) of Montreal Steak seasoning as a rub before searing the meat in a 2-3 qt. pot (or use 10-inch skillet with lid). I try not use more than 1-2 tbl. of olive oil when searing. After searing, transfer meat to slow cooker. Meanwhile turn off heat to searing pot and add beef stock to soften up all the leftover meat/seasoning pieces. Whisk in vinegar and worcester sauce then add stock mixture to slow cooker. I added raw, sliced onions mushrooms and peppers directly on top of meat before covering and slow cooking. After 2-3 hours I removed meat to let cool before slicing and returning to slow cooker. I grilled the sliced sandwich buns. With slotted spoon I transferred meat/veggie mixture to each open-faced bun then added the cheese (it melts on the heated meat mixture but you can also melt it in the broiler. I ladled out remaining juices (I didn't strain it) in dipping bowls to serve on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
This turned out delicious. Followed the recipe other than putting salt, pepper and some onion powder on the meat before cooking. It was tender and fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I stuck to the recipe and found that the meat had an almost sour taste when done from the Vinegar I suspect. I cheated so my kids would eat it also and dumped in some bbq sauce at the end and a little maple syrup to just sweeten it a little bit! It was then a HIT! But it is not really the same recipe then. Will make again with the addition of a little sweetener and bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cheese Steaks

The slow cooker is the best way to make perfectly tender cheese steaks.

Slow Cooker Macaroni and Cheese

Just set it and forget it. Come home to cheesy comfort food in your crock pot.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States