Slow Cooker Chai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I used A LOT of spices and will keep this spiced water as a base to make tea. I'm freezing some of it and putting the rest in the refrig. When I'm ready for my chai I can prepare 1 cup at a time. I heat it up, add the tea bag as usual. After steeping I add milk and perhaps sugar. Actually tastes much like the chai tea bags I purchase but this is much healthier! (I forgot the ginger and will add it next time!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Am a little suprised that so many people said this was good. Not spicey enough and the sweetened condensed milk adds a totally different flavor. Does not taste like a traditional Chai tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
My slow cooker is small so I only made half of this recipe. I added all of the ingredients (except for peppercorns...I didnt have any) and put it on low around 10pm so I could enjoy it around 7am the next morning. The chai tasted GREAT. I added the condensed milk little by little so I could avoid having it taste too sweet. This tastes just like the Starbucks version, but a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This is a great base recipe for Chai that I will use again and again. I intend to make a batch each weekend and store it in the fridge to save on calories (and money) for Chai from the coffee shop! Comparatively, this recipe is pretty low calorie. 90 cal per serving compared to 240 cal for a grande Chai latte at Starbucks. My first batch had a good balance of spices, but was just a little sweet for my family's liking. I think next time I make it, I'll use 3/4 of the sweetened condensed milk rather than the whole can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Wow this was so good! I was completely amazed. I followed the recipe pretty closely except I could only put in 2 1/2 quarts of water because my crock pot is too small, and I put it on LOW overnight, (about 10 hours which was totally enough... it was still extremely spicy and flavorful) Also, I only used 6 black tea bags. Everything else was exactly as written. Then, when I put it into mugs to serve I used my little frother thingy to make it like a real latte. So good! Way better than starbucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gretamarie
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I was leary of this recipe for some reason, but it turned out really good! I used 1 1/2 tsp ground cardamom (it's all I could find) and 1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon instead of cinnamon sticks. I also used fat free sweet and condensed milk, and it tastes great. When I strained the tea, I made sure most of the ground cinnamon and cardamom were strained out, otherwise it would have had too much muckiness to it. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This recipe is very good. I added 1/2 tsp vanilla extract, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, a dash of fennel seeds, and a dash of anise. Also, a handy conversion is: one cinnamon stick equals 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon. It makes the house smell great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
So so good. Takes forever....but worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This was lovely and made the whole house smell great! I subbed 1 tbsp powdered ginger for the fresh and it worked out great. I also subbed 2 c milk and 1 1/4 c sugar for the sweetened condensed milk. This tastes great and is a lot cheaper than these small boxes of chai at the store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Golden Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This was very delicious! I made the recipe as written except for the cardamom pods because I didn't have any. I used some anise seed instead, and threw in a little extra ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States