Slow Cooker Cassoulet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Eh.. this was fair - I thought it was relatively decent, but my husband yucked at it. I used chorizo as was suggested in a review... it gave a nice smoky flavor but it got very crumbly, almost sawdusty weird texture. Here are some changes I made: during the last 2 or so hours of cooking, I threw a package of frozen potato-onion pierogies on top of the mix to add in a carb. Also I served it with crispy french fried onions when i plated it up. I didn't have parsely so I used fresh rosemary as the cooking spice and added some italian seasoning. Here's what I would do if I make this again (which honestly I doubt I will..): instead of using actual sausage, I would suggest a nice smoky ham bone... and for some reason I kept thinking this was crying for okra. I would suggest adding maybe a tad more liquid too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Faith Manka
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Loved the recipe, house smelled so good all day. Topped mine with some oven roasted asparagus just to make sure we got our vegetables. Did slow cook for 8 hrs, and came out perfect. Bought a loaf of french bread just like suggested, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Faith Manka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Did everything according to the recipe, but for some reason the beans broke down into a complete gloppy mess. Fortunately my company was close family, or this could have been embarrassing! The flavor was good, but the consistency was starchy & way too thick. Next time I will cook it the same way, but add the beans an hour or so before it's done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Ok. Made this tonight. Would rate 4.5 stars if that were an option. Changes: Used chicken thighs instead of breasts - whole - because that's what we like. Used 1 tsp thyme instead of parsley. Added 1 cup chicken broth (no wine) in anticipation of all the wonderful juices to dip toasted rustic bread into. Cooked 7 hours. Perfect! Will make again - easy and comforting and adaptable to individual tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Tried this tonight...delicious. I did think it was a little too salty, though, so I added a medium size can of sauerkraut at the end. We thought it was just the right touch. I'll make this again. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
SIX stars for this one! Loved, loved, loved it. It's cruised to the top of our "keeper" list. Served with saffron rice and zucchini. I used Sweet Onion Wine from LaBelle Winery (in NH), a dry white with vidalia tones. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Fabulous Recipe.... Added carrots and mushrooms. Made with wine.. Thanks for sharing this great MEAL WILL MAKE AGAIN for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sagecreeked

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Westbank, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
5 Stars! But I did make a couple changes to suit my family. First, used mild italian sausage and browned meats before adding to crock pot - not necessary, but does add a nice flavor. Second - Added 1 cup chicken stock along with the wine for more sauce. Last - thickened the juices with water and corn starch before serving. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Great recipe. Made no real changes except no wine in the house, used chicken broth, the rest of the can of broth I mixed in with the next day leftovers. Had an Easter hambone in the freezer, threw that in to use it up. Really good with the Italian Bread using a Bread Machine recipe that Destiny posted on this site. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cabin cat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This was good, but too salty. I will make again and omit salt entirely. Could not find cannellini beans - used butter beans and they were excellent. Could not find turkey kielbasa so used regular but the low fat kind. Very good with some tweaking, and certainly very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Joshua Tree, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States