Slow Cooker Cassoulet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Wonderful!!! Made it on the stove---didn't have the time to make it in trhe crock pot. Thanks for sharing---the family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Ok, if you try this recipe, you MUST use the wine or it will be tasteless. The wine is the key ingredient. A few alterations I made: I used half an onion and 3-4 cloves garlic, substituted 1/2 tsp thyme for the parsley and about 2/3 cup wine (I used chardonnay). I cooked on high for 4 hours. Next time I will use 3 cans of beans. I would have liked more beans. It was tasty and is good left over the following day. My 4 year old even ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gofreddygo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Liked it, but felt like it was missing something. Tomatoes? I added an extra 1/3 cup of broth because it seemed like it was dry. There were no real juices to this, but it was still pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Made as written. Delicious, easy, and a good meal for a fall day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This recipe is awesome. Cooked in 6 1/2 quart Oval Slow Cooker for 6 hours on low, chicken was very tender and came off the bone very easily. Removed the Chicken from the Slow Cooker shredded and put back in Slow Cooker, stirred everything made sure it was all mixed together properly. The Cannelini Beans maintained their texture, also had added some Baby Portobella Mushrooms, which also maintained their texture, nothing became mushy or dried out. I used chicken legs and thighs, as that is the only part of the chicken I buy. I can't stand chicken breasts, even with the skin and bone they are tasteless, as far as I am concerned. The extra ingredients I used, 2 lbs.,Polish Kielbasa, 3 cans Cannelini Beans, 8oz.,of Mushrooms. Followed recipe except the Wine, would have used the Wine, except my husband had to go to work, wasn't a good idea to put the Wine in at this time. The next time I make this, which will be again soon, will make sure he doesn't have to work that evening and use Wine along with Chicken Broth. This recipe needs more than 1/3 cup of a liquid or it will be very dry. Served this with a Spring Green Salad and Toasted Italian Bread. YUM O. Thanks for sharing a great recipe. Not only is this excellent it makes the house smell good. Thank You Peggy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy  BigDogsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This turned out to be a waste of good chicken at my house. We like all these ingredients separate, but together it just didn't work for us. I used chicken broth instead of wine, there really wasn't any juice to eat with French bread. I'm very disappointed when no one eats the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALOUONIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
No one in my family liked this, and we are not generally picky. The combination of chicken, kielbasa and beans was just wrong in regards to texture and flavor. The aftertaste was terrible and stuck with us all night long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This was really good. My husband seldom likes food that is all cooked together but he was really suprised at how good this is. I used a can of Campbell's Soup Chicken Broth and a splash of white wine. I mixed some flour and water mixed in a cup then poured into the crock pot and turned on high. Worked really great. Will be making this often. I enjoy reading reviews and often use the changes suggested by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I loved it, great flavor and simple recipe. I added a tiny pinch of basil and used chicken broth in place of the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This was just awesome. I seasoned my chickent breast pieces with s/p & poultry seasoning before giving it a quick brown in a pan with a little olive oil. I threw everything else together in the crock pot substituting ckn broth for the wine, dried parsley for fresh, 5 garlic cloves (we love garlic :)and some dried marjoram, oregano, & a few bay leaves. Cooked on high for 5 hours. Served with some sour cream mashed potatoes and honey glazed carrots. We ate dinner in near silence as this was just so good! I'll try it w/wine next time and fresh herbs from the garden. Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States