Slow Cooker Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Unfortunately this recipe has a lot of problems. It is, like another reviewer commented, a souped up Ramen noodles recipe. Personally I love Ramen noodles and I love salt. But, as 99% of the other reviews mentioned it is too salty! I think inherently the problem lies in the noodles cooking in the soup. The noodles soak up the super rich flavor. I even only put in 2 packets of Ramen seasoning, but it was just too much. My husband wasn't home for dinner and it's a good thing. He would have taken 2 bites and been done. I also think the butter is completely unnessary in this recipe, even though I love my butter. It seperated from the soups, leaving puddles of oil on top. I've been trying to think about how to improve on this recipe so it's not so salty and rich, but I think it would completely change the recipe. Growing up as a kid my mom would make a similar type dish that also used condensed soups, but she would simmer the meat and soups together, cook skinny egg noodles seperately and mix it all together. It was a much better ratio of noodle to soup. She didn't add any additional spices because it really didn't need it (my dad always added lots of black pepper to his.) It was SO much better and not salty at all. IF I ever get a craving for a creamy Ramen noodles and decide to try again I'll cut out one can of soup and replace with 1 can of water, eliminate the seasoning packets (or just use 1 max.) And I'll do as some other reviewers have done and cook the noodles seperately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Good recipe for quick chicken and dumplings. I replaced ramen noodles with homemade biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
The flavor of the recipe is very yummy BUT don't use the noodles from the soup. They get really mushy and don't make for good left overs. Better off cooking up some pasta or rice separately to serve over... Yummy! Definitely a family pleaser...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
As reading the reviews I found many concerned about salt intake( which I believe derives from the ramen season packet more so than the condensed soups). A great substitute for the season packet could be Mrs. Dash original season blend ( it is salt free and brings great flavor to all dishes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blondie46

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanson, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Everything tasted great until I added the ramen noodles which ruined the whole thing for me. In our family we have 2 semi-picky and 2 that will eat anything and everybody felt the same. Next time I will serve the mixture over noodles and not add it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Probably not a fair review because I left out the ramen noodles and ramen seasoning altogether, but it was DELICIOUS! Tasted like chicken a la king. Served it over hot biscuits. I didn't add any additional salt - and my salt-loving husband didn't use the shaker at the table. We both loved it! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This recipes was totally awesome! My whole family loved it! I followed the preparation instructions, I tweaked it a little though. I used two cans of cream of chicken, a half can of water, 1 medium onion sliced, 2tsp of onion powder, 1-1/2 seasoning packet from the noodles, seasoned the chicken with 1/2 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp poultry seasoning, 1/2 tsp onion powder. cooked on low for 3-1/2 hours. I added the noodles and cooked on high for 30 min...simply delicious!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I really don't like cooking with condensed soups, I like the idea of this. I may have to try it with some fresher ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This was OK - easy, fairly cheap and tasted OK. I don't know if it's something we'll crave but it's a nice recipe to have in my repetoire. I truly don't think the butter is necessary at all - this was already very rich with the soups. We used the Roasted Chicken Ramen noodles, don't know if the Creamy Chicken would have been better/worse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I followed the directions exactly, and it was pretty good. I think next time, I'm going to use low sodium soups to cut down on the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCarrie

Displaying results 21-30 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States