Slow Cooker Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I took some advice from this recipe, but did change it quiet a bit. I used 2 cans of cream of chicken and only 1 can of cream of mushroom. I added 1/2 cup of sour cream. I only did 1 tsp of onion salt and 1 tsp of garlic salt. I did use the frozen veggies and 6 chicken breast halves, but I didn't use the Ramen noodles or it's seasoning. I used egg noodles and I cooked those seperately and then added it to the crockpot mixture about 5 mins before it was finished, and then put it in a baking dish and topped it with butter ritz crackers and baked it for about 5mins. It was a winner! The chicken was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rizzle2008
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This was a quick slow cooker meal but it wasn't my favorite. The flavor was missing something. I added 1 medium sweet onion chopped to the in the final 2 hours of the cooking. I also cooked the meal on low for 3 hours and high for 2 (which is when I added the onions). I added about 1 teaspoon of poultry seasoning to the cubed chicken and mixed it up before I added the chicken to the slow cooker. I think next time I will use minced garlic for extra flavor! I did not find the chicken to be shredded (which is why i cooked it the way I did) or the noodles to be mushy (added in the final hour). Just needs a little work with the seasoning for optional flavor and this will be a home run!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rizzle2008
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This recipes was so so. It was very salty and the Ramen noodles didn't fit in correctly. I may make it again with my own twist. I would not use the Ramen noodles at all. Maybe without the noodles in the slow cooker, but pour the chicken mixture over plain noodles or rice. Just a thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
My family thought this was okay. I halved the recipe and followed the directions with 2 very minor changes. I used 2 packs of noodles but only one packet of seasoning because I was worried about it being too salty. I used fresh veggies (broccoli, cauliflower, carrots) because that's what I had. They turned to total mush after 6 hours on low. I think next time I will add the veggies when I get home from work and use egg noodles as another reviewer suggested. I would definitely suggest adding a can of water at the beginning, this dish was extremely thick and I needed to add water when I added the noodles. You don't need to turn crock pot to high when adding the Ramen noodles, they cooked very quickly on medium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Too thick and mushy for me. Since other reviews said too salty I only added 1 ramen seasoning packet. Ended up being a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OharaLane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stevenson Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Unfortunately this recipe has a lot of problems. It is, like another reviewer commented, a souped up Ramen noodles recipe. Personally I love Ramen noodles and I love salt. But, as 99% of the other reviews mentioned it is too salty! I think inherently the problem lies in the noodles cooking in the soup. The noodles soak up the super rich flavor. I even only put in 2 packets of Ramen seasoning, but it was just too much. My husband wasn't home for dinner and it's a good thing. He would have taken 2 bites and been done. I also think the butter is completely unnessary in this recipe, even though I love my butter. It seperated from the soups, leaving puddles of oil on top. I've been trying to think about how to improve on this recipe so it's not so salty and rich, but I think it would completely change the recipe. Growing up as a kid my mom would make a similar type dish that also used condensed soups, but she would simmer the meat and soups together, cook skinny egg noodles seperately and mix it all together. It was a much better ratio of noodle to soup. She didn't add any additional spices because it really didn't need it (my dad always added lots of black pepper to his.) It was SO much better and not salty at all. IF I ever get a craving for a creamy Ramen noodles and decide to try again I'll cut out one can of soup and replace with 1 can of water, eliminate the seasoning packets (or just use 1 max.) And I'll do as some other reviewers have done and cook the noodles seperately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Good recipe for quick chicken and dumplings. I replaced ramen noodles with homemade biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
The flavor of the recipe is very yummy BUT don't use the noodles from the soup. They get really mushy and don't make for good left overs. Better off cooking up some pasta or rice separately to serve over... Yummy! Definitely a family pleaser...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
As reading the reviews I found many concerned about salt intake( which I believe derives from the ramen season packet more so than the condensed soups). A great substitute for the season packet could be Mrs. Dash original season blend ( it is salt free and brings great flavor to all dishes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blondie46

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanson, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Everything tasted great until I added the ramen noodles which ruined the whole thing for me. In our family we have 2 semi-picky and 2 that will eat anything and everybody felt the same. Next time I will serve the mixture over noodles and not add it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States