Slow Cooker Cashew Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Love this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
maybe I added too much water to the recipe but we found this dish bland would not make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Even though wife and kids dont like fish and oyster sauce, I too will continue to look for something a little better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by czechyour6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I did not like this recipe, too fishy, too bland, but I'm giving it three stars because my teenager loved it. I think she ate all the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle HostMom
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
the chicken was overcooked, and the flavor was somehow both bland and unpleasant. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie Robertson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
While my son commented that it "smelled funny" while cooking, everyone gobbled it up when it was done! I added some sliced water chestnuts about 15 min before serving and the cashews (much less than what was called for) about 5 minutes before serving over steamed rice. I made the Snap pea appitizer recipe (also from this site) to accompany it -- perfect! Will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I thought this was a very tasty dish, although I could have stood to have more chicken in the mix, which is the only reason I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5. I didn't have scallions so I used regular green onions, and I thought it was fine. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of adding the cashews. I was making my meal overnight for a dinner the next day, so I actually chilled it during the day in the refrigerator. I pulled the chicken pieces out of the sauce and let them warm in the crockpot, while I reheated all the sauce on the stove. As part of the reheating, I brought the sauce to a low boil and added the cashews. It turned out perfectly - the cashews were soft but firm, and retained their shape well. The whole mixture of flavors was really delicious. I was afraid of the fish sauce after reading other reviews on the website, but there was nothing "fishy" tasting about it at all. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey624

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
A good and easy recipe. 4 stars because my husband complained about the cashews being too soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
this should be called fishy chicken. I cook a lot of Chinese food and use Oyster sauce & fish sauce all the time, but never does the food taste only like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This is a excellent recipe to use as a base for your own version. I followed the recipe exactly except that I added a mixture of corn starch and chicken broth when I added the cashews. That thickened the broth. There's a lot of cashews, which I love, so you may want to adjust that item to suit your own personal tastes. Next time I'm adding mushrooms and some green and red peppers. Tastes really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States