Slow Cooker Cashew Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I made this last night and my family loved it. I used chicken breast, because I don't like thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lodi, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This was really good. The only thing I have to say is that it doesn't need as much water as the recipe calls for (next time I will not cover the chicken -- it was too watery) and it really doesn't need a whole pound of cashews! At $10/ lb I bought a 1/2 lb and it was still too much. Next time I'll use 1/4 lb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Very, very nice! Really easy and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hutchinson8813

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This dish is wonderful; especially if you like asian/garlicy food. I followed the directions with the exception of using chicken breasts, because I needed to use them up. I served with whole wheat noodles, broccoli, and mandarin oranges. What a great, healthier alternative to take-out; cheaper too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Oxford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This is a excellent recipe to use as a base for your own version. I followed the recipe exactly except that I added a mixture of corn starch and chicken broth when I added the cashews. That thickened the broth. There's a lot of cashews, which I love, so you may want to adjust that item to suit your own personal tastes. Next time I'm adding mushrooms and some green and red peppers. Tastes really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
While my son commented that it "smelled funny" while cooking, everyone gobbled it up when it was done! I added some sliced water chestnuts about 15 min before serving and the cashews (much less than what was called for) about 5 minutes before serving over steamed rice. I made the Snap pea appitizer recipe (also from this site) to accompany it -- perfect! Will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
this should be called fishy chicken. I cook a lot of Chinese food and use Oyster sauce & fish sauce all the time, but never does the food taste only like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I thought this was a very tasty dish, although I could have stood to have more chicken in the mix, which is the only reason I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5. I didn't have scallions so I used regular green onions, and I thought it was fine. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of adding the cashews. I was making my meal overnight for a dinner the next day, so I actually chilled it during the day in the refrigerator. I pulled the chicken pieces out of the sauce and let them warm in the crockpot, while I reheated all the sauce on the stove. As part of the reheating, I brought the sauce to a low boil and added the cashews. It turned out perfectly - the cashews were soft but firm, and retained their shape well. The whole mixture of flavors was really delicious. I was afraid of the fish sauce after reading other reviews on the website, but there was nothing "fishy" tasting about it at all. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey624

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. My entire house smells. It was the fish sauce. Maybe my family isn't used to this flavor or smell but none of us cared for it. It tasted just like it smelled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chevy Chase, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
A good and easy recipe. 4 stars because my husband complained about the cashews being too soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States