Slow Cooker Cashew Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This is a excellent recipe to use as a base for your own version. I followed the recipe exactly except that I added a mixture of corn starch and chicken broth when I added the cashews. That thickened the broth. There's a lot of cashews, which I love, so you may want to adjust that item to suit your own personal tastes. Next time I'm adding mushrooms and some green and red peppers. Tastes really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Not sure what I did. Came out more like soup. Taste is there but I was expecting something thicker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
The taste of the fish sauce wasn't a problem for us (we splash it into our Thai curries all the time), but the overall flavor of the dish can be described as nothing if not distinct! I found it a bit too sweet for my taste - not sure whether this came from the sugar ... or maybe the cashews? I also don't like my nuts cooked and soft, so next time I would just add them at the VERY end. The chicken thighs were extremely tender - guess that's what a slow cooker does! Soaked up the flavor well. We served it over rice noodles and with some steamed broccoli, both great accompaniments. But in the end though, I probably would not make this again. It's been leftover in the fridge for a week now, which isn't a good sign in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I am sorry but we did not like this at all. The fish sauce was way too over powering. It gave the meat a bad flavor. I will not try this one again. I have made several recipes from this site and this is the first one I have not liked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. My entire house smells. It was the fish sauce. Maybe my family isn't used to this flavor or smell but none of us cared for it. It tasted just like it smelled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chevy Chase, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This was really good. The only thing I have to say is that it doesn't need as much water as the recipe calls for (next time I will not cover the chicken -- it was too watery) and it really doesn't need a whole pound of cashews! At $10/ lb I bought a 1/2 lb and it was still too much. Next time I'll use 1/4 lb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This dish is wonderful; especially if you like asian/garlicy food. I followed the directions with the exception of using chicken breasts, because I needed to use them up. I served with whole wheat noodles, broccoli, and mandarin oranges. What a great, healthier alternative to take-out; cheaper too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Oxford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I made this last night and my family loved it. I used chicken breast, because I don't like thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lodi, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Very, very nice! Really easy and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hutchinson8813

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States