Slow Cooker Carrot Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2000
This is a perfect recipe for a working woman
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I made this last night for my family, but used chicken thigh's (bone out) and cooked them from frozen. I was surprised to find that the chicken was done with in three hours, but I just took it out and let the carrots continue to cook. I also left the cabbage out so that it did not get too soft and soggy (not saying that it would, but I assumed that it would after eight hours off cooking). After about 7 hours the carrots were a good enough texture to eat, so I then took them out. I chopped up the chicken and returned it to the crock pot, then added the cabbage and let it all cook another hour. The cabbage wasn't entirely done, but it was better than pure mush for sure! I am giving this recipe 5 stars because everyone who ate it (three adults and two small children) said it was really good! We ate it served over brown rice, and only had to add just a tiny bit of salt. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
First off, of those complaining this was too bland, just add some more spices, simple. without the noodles, which I loved really cause I'm trying to stay away from carbs and was wondering with cold weather coming how i'd get my chicken soup. Anyways I thought it was really tasty, the chicken was falling apart and cabbage and carrots are two of my favorite vegetables. So think of it maybe like the chicken version of pot roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridget

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
My family loves this recipe, in fact it is one of my kids' favorites! The only change I make is to use less water, approximately half-covered. I serve this is couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Very similar to chicken & dumplings, minus the dumplings. We loved the flavor. I didn't have 2 of the seasonings that the recipe called for (Poultry seasoning & Greek seasoning) so I googled how to mix my own with some stuff I *DID* have in the house. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prettymissjamie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2000
My husband loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
I made it with a sliced onion instead of the cabbage (didn't have any on hand) and served it over rice. The whole family loved it! (And we usually don't ever agree on food!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Very good! Almost like soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recipesampler
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I made this but I saw it being bland so I made a sauce with browning bacon the stock from crockpot, lemon, tap salt and tbsp of red pepper flakes, simmered down then added corn starch to thicken. Made it very good without taking flavor from chicken and veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msghd
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I liked this recipe a lot. The fam on the other hand was not so much of a fan. I ended up adding more spices as it needed salt really bad. I made the gravy and it turned out fabulous served over mashed potatoes. I would make this again and change up the spices a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msghd

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States