Slow Cooker Carrot Cake Steel Cut Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I'm not a breadfast eater so while my kids were away, I set this up to have for dinner. It was great! It is also great for a dessert after a dinner meal too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judi Barton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This is awesome. My husband and my kids did too. My husband leaves for work at 5:30 and has some, then turns it off. When we get up and eat at 7:30 it is a perfect temperature. We love it with vanilla yogurt on top. Personally we think that the yogurt makes this recipe complete. I have had to play with the spices a bit due to not having what I need, but it still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This seemed to have so much promise, given the ingredients, and I loved the fact that it was so healthy, but I just didn't care for it. I followed the recipe exactly, and the shredded carrots were still carrots and hadn't softened into nothing, and the taste was tart and unappealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Followed the recipe with the exception of adding 1/2 cup raisins and 1/2 cup zante currants instead of 1cup raisins. I initially thought the amount of water (10cupes?) seemed a bit much, esp if you include the applesauce, but since I'd never cooked with steel cut oats, I figured it'll "drink" all the water up and be more like an oatmeal when done, I was wrong. After letting it cook for 6 hours (still looked like brown water in a crockpot) I cooked it for another 2 on low.. still watery and I tasted it this morning (let it cook over night) it was a soupy-watery mess with probably about 3 cups of liquid still left over. I had to dredge out the "oatmeal" from the bottom of the crockpot. All that water didn't get absorbed, or cook down.. its watery oatmeal. Smells great, but its not appealing at all. Was kinda hoping this would be the chance I'd get over my distaste for oatmeal with something yummy. I'll keep searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariaTheSoaper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I give the author much credit for ingenuity; I never would have thought of this combination, but it works! I cooked my batch on the stovetop, since my crockpot was otherwise engaged. I used a little less grated carrot and shredded them in my food processor. I also dislike using artificial sweeteners, so I substituted some honey to taste. It's very filling - of course, steel cut oats are always filling. This was a nice change from the usual. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
We just loved this! We had a guy doing work at the house early Saturday morning and hubs asked me warm up 2 big bowls for them. Not eggs, sweet rolls or a big sandwich, OATMEAL! Lol!! I halved this and used a 5 qt slow cooker. It only took about 3 hours. I used the entire can of pineapple, didn't drain it and the full amount of raisins. I don't know what the sugar equivalent of the sugar substitute would be so I just added a 1/4 cup of brown sugar instead. It was just right, not too sweet. I keep this in containers in the frig, put what I want in a bowl, add milk and microwave a 1 1/2 minutes. Thank you! Great, fun recipe. I know my husband will request it often and I am happy to make for him!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
We just didn't care for this. Perhaps using sweetened applesauce would work better. I added 1/3 cup of sugar but it was not enough. Raisins plump nicely in the crockpot but there is too much liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I followed this exactly except I omitted the artificial sweetener and used coconut sugar and added some unsweetened shredded coconut and walnuts. Unfortunately neither of us cared for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Oro Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I halved the recipe (and it's still a ton of cereal), but used a full 8-oz can of crushed pineapple and a cup of raisins as others suggested -- otherwise followed it exactly. The only thing I would change next time would be to chop up the carrot shreds some before adding. Add some chopped walnuts before serving for added nutrition and more carrot-cake fantasy...if someone finds a way to incorporate cream cheese, we might have breakfast nirvana here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I wouldn't say that this tastes like carrot cake, but I will say that it tastes GREAT! I made half a recipe, and it cooked much faster than 6 hours, so you may want to start checking on it early. Next time, I probably will double the raisins and even use golden raisins for a little more eye-appealing presentation (the dark raisins sort of look like kidney or black beans in the oatmeal). I'll most likely add more pineapple, as that flavor was crazy good in this. IMO the spices are spot on. I served this with a dollop of honey greek yogurt and a sprinkle of chopped walnuts. I portioned out what I made today into freezer containers, so this should make for a healthy/nutritional/fast breakfast reheated in the microwave. Thanks DebbiKat for a recipe that makes the slow cooker a star (and, honestly, I'm not a slow cooker fan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States