Slow Cooker Carrot Cake Steel Cut Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Yummy!!! I used about 4-5 TBS brown sugar and no other sugar. Was still sweet. I'm trying to stay away from sugar substitutes and packaged foods when possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
We thought this was wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly and will cut back on the sweetener next but overall we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I really wanted to like this, but just didn't. I followed the recipe, aside from cutting it down by size. I felt the cinnamon was overpowering and bitter. I finely grated my carrots and they were still "carrots" and a bit hard. I cooked this on low for almost 8 hours. It could just be me, but I didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Belt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
You must use STEEL CUT OATS in this recipe. These require a longer cooking time and a higher Oat to water ratio. The instructions on the steel cut oats box says 1 cup oats to 4 1/2 cups of water. This ratio works perfectly & is close to the ratio in this recipe. If you follow the instructions and use the ingredients required, I'm sure your end product will be far more to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaLoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenora, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I followed the recipe entirely. I did not like it. My family didn't either. It wasn't tasty at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KikiMonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malad City, Idaho, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Very sweet. Nothing special imo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atascosa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This is a great recipe! Made exactly as stated the first time and was 5 star, but since then have made minor changes to taste. I use a full 20oz can of crushed pineapple, draining the juice, but measure it and use as part of the water. Have tried different kinds and amounts of sweetener, but finally decided it does not need any sweetener. I have never cared for hot cereal, but this recipe has changed that! This freezes very well in individual containers. Just pop one in the microwave, and your meal is ready! I just have to comment on some of the negative feedback: For those who thought it was not sweet enough, I guess they must have been using it for a dessert, not a healthy breakfast (plus if you really want all that added sugar it's pretty easy to add more at the table). For those who ended up with too much water, check to make sure you were using STEEL CUT oats. For the ones that said the matchstick carrots didn't cook, the recipe calls for SHREDDED carrots (which you can do yourself!) I have made this several times since finding the recipe, and it has always cooked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Despite so many negative reviews, I tried this anyway. I'm happy I did. The only other time I've made steel cut oats was with a recipe from this site (http://allrecipes.com/recipe/slow-cooker-oats/detail.aspx). I compared the water called for in this recipe to the previous link, and the ratio of water to oats was much greater (probably why people were getting really watery oats.) Here's what I did that didn't really modify the recipe, and I was successful: I only made 1/2 a batch, so I started with 3 cups of water instead of 5. I could only find matchstick carrots at the store, so I put them in my food processor before adding to the crockpot (complaints about crunchy carrots in reviews). When they were done, the carrots were still pretty crunchy, but overnight in the fridge mellowed them out a bit before I had a bowl for breakfast. I checked on the oats hourly, and after about 4 hours I added 1 cup more water. They were done in about 5 hours... That's all I did and it worked great. Even though this is a slow cooker recipe, I still made sure I was home at night so I could check it... Now I know what works for my crockpot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Beloit, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I wasn't a huge fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States