Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
We LOVED this recipe and are making it again this weekend. Some people said it makes your house smell strongly of vinegar, but I didn't think it was a problem. I highly recommend trying this BBQ folks. It's delicious and we ate every last bit. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Familychef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
My husband is from the SC low country and has introduced me to vinegar based barbecue. This is the first crockpot barbecue recipe I have tried and I have to say, look no further!!! As soon as it started heating up that vinegar smelled just like the roadside joints we have visited. Here are the few adjustments I made: a few dashes of liquid smoke added to vinegar during cooking process, I used much less hot sauce and cayenne than recipe called for and opted for lots of black pepper instead. I saved all the cooking liquid to make the sauce because it's great for added to reheated meat. Can't wait for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
I made this recipe the first time in a slow cooker it was awesome. I recently purchased a electric pressure cooker seared the pork roast on all sides for 5 minutes. I added 3 teaspoons of liquid smoke. Then cook in the pressure cooker for 2hrs. This was beyond awesome, it taste like authentic Carolina barbecue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Followed the recipe and altered based on size of cut. I put a 4.5lb boston butt in the crockpot on low overnight. Used roughly 1.25C apple cider vinegar. Pros: SUPER easy. Not even 5min prep time plus 10 shredding and taste testing. Set on warm during the morning while chasing the toddler around. Came out super tender when i could shred around noon. Cons: not as vinegary as I would like. Simple solution: added more vinegar when placing shredded pork back to crockpot. Delicious! I didnt get a bad vinegar smell. Not quite as good as the real thing on a low grill, but certainly worth your time if you get a pork cut on sale! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by milkycow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Too hot way too much vinaigrette taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Being from the Midwest and currently living in Florida, I fell in love with the pulled pork in North Carolina while visiting family. I have never had anything like it! I have tried several recipes in an attempt to replicate it and this is very, VERY close! The smell as this is cooking is AMAZING and my husband actually says mine is BETTER than our favorite restaurant there! I am not one that likes spicy stuff but, this is amazing. The flavors seem to set in more the next day so be careful when testing it. Also, you can make this and freeze it very easily and it heats up and tastes just as great as when it was first made. I can't say enough good things about this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Powell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
a nice change from BBQ pulled pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamamcgonigle
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Made this many times just as written! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamcgonigle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ryan Henderson
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I've made this a number of times, and it is one of my favorites. The addition of liquid is smoke is highly recommended. Make a batch of coleslaw and mustard paint and you have one good sandwich. I cook mine 8 hrs on low, I find 12 hrs is a bit long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Henderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This was my first try at slow cooker bar-b-q, and it was a great hit As we are seniors, I did cut the cayenne and red pepper flakes to 1 tsp and omitted the hot sauce, figured those that needed more spice could add the hot sauce. Served with slaw and bake beans...yum. thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ

Make authentic-tasting North Carolina pulled pork at home!

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States