Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This was some incredible BBQ with some incredibly nasty vinegar smell for the first 10 hours of cooking! Thank God we were taking the final product to someone else's house. After the pork was drained, shredded and all the other ingredients got added the smell got a lot better. All we added after that was 2-3 Tbsp. of liquid smoke which I highly recommend. The end product tastes like something from a BBQ Smokehouse Restaurant. I served this with Creamy Spiced Coleslaw and Sweet Cornbread from this site and it was gone in no time. I can't wait to make this again. We'll just be putting the slow cooker in the garage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I have been making a version of this for over 20 years--to rave reviews. I highly recommend adding a small amount (1/2 pound of so) of smoked picnic ham to the crock pot to convincingly fake that "pit cooked" flavor. I also recommend using white vinegar, not cider vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I am from North Carolina and have grown up on REAL bbq..and i have to say this is real close..its a great recipe ! my only added suggestion is to add some liquid smoke to this..a good amount..it does wonders for that good ol smoke taste ! thanks again for a back home memory !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amherst, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Absolutely amazing! I am a displaced Tar Heel living in Alaska, and I would have NEVER thought that I could have North Carolina barbecue all the way up here without flying it in! I have tried lots of barbecue that has been touted as "NC barbecue," and have been disappointed every time. This is it! I made the recipe exactly as written for New Year's Day and was bowled over when I tasted it. It was 10 degrees below zero that day, but it felt like NC at the dinner table! Anyone who complains that cooking the pork in vinegar makes the house smell bad has never walked in from below zero temperatures to the aroma of Stamey's, Hursey's or Smithfield's! The only thing missing was the flavor that comes with slow smoking the pork, but I'll work on it. What a holiday gift this was!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Absolutely delicious! Yes, it does emit a strong smell of vinegar while cooking, but it's certainly worth it. I followed the recipe exactly as stated, however I cooked on high for 5 1/2 hours and it was just perfect. You can do this if you don't have the whole 12 hours to cook this in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
i set the crockpot and left for class. i came home 3 hours later and was immediately transported back to NC (where I grew up). I said, "mmmm, smells like bbq." my husband said, "ugh, it smells like vinegar" (he's from Georgia)...but in the end, he said that it was the best I'd ever made. Thanks for posting this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Oh my goodness! You hit the nail right on the head. I am from eastern North Carolina and grew up with pig pickin's. What a shot of nostalgia with a fraction of the work. I've made this several times, always with rave reviews. The only complaint my husband and I have is the vinegary smell for 12 hrs. But well worth the trade. Excellent with "Dave's Coleslaw" from here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
The apple vinegar is the key to this recipe. I use a Boston Pork Butt, a cup of apple vinegar, and a 1/2 bottle of Stubbs Marinade. After 6 hours on high in the crock pot, I pull the meat and shred and put back in the pot. I then add a bottle of Doc Pierces BBQ sauce and cook on low for another two hours. It's like a party in your mouth. Very tasty. 5 STARS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This Yankee girl LOVES this recipe! I was only acquainted with Carolina BBQ a few years ago and really liked it. This recipe is perfect. It is very spicy which I like, but be careful if serving to a crowd - especially like people in Minnesota who seem to prefer things very bland. Put some of this on a yummy bun, add a little cole slaw and it's an immediate picnic. Thanks for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love my Doxie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Wish I could rate this one higher than only 5 stars... yes, it's THAT good. I read several reviews and found an awful lot of whining about the vinegar smell, but honestly, I thought it smelled WONDERFUL! Be sure to add some Liquid Smoke... it is the ONLY thing missing from the recipe. For a 4 or 5 LB. pork roast, you'll want to add a couple of tablespoons of liquid smoke. Man oh man, I could eat this stuff all week. Make your favorite cole slaw recipe to top off the pork with and trust me, you will be smiling at the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ

Make authentic-tasting North Carolina pulled pork at home!

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States