Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I'm a Yankee, born and bred, but IMO, THIS is what barbeque should be!!! OK, I know that there are those who will debate this, but I've traveled a lot, eaten a lot of BBQ from all around the country and to me, Eastern NC BBQ, with the wonderful vinegar tang, is just "it." And this is one of the best recipes out there - and certainly the easiest! Agree with other posters that a little liquid smoke only improves the flavor, but it's still delicious as written. Oh man, now my mouth is watering again - looks like my crockpot is going to be busy again this weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I used a pork loin and increased the spices -- I like it spicy! Overall, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
It's possible I left it in too long, because I had a 6.6 pound pork shoulder, but I think the result may still have been the same. Very appley flavored pork. I've had the amazing pork you get at some select restaurants around NC, where I live, and I certainly wasn't expecting this to be on that level, but this just ended up tasting like cafeteria barbeque. I should have guessed it wouldn't be great when all you marinate it in is apple cider vinegar, and then for the sauce, MORE apple cider vinegar with other stuff mixed in that can't hope to compete with the apple taste. Maybe I'll try the Sweet and Savory Slow Cooker Pulled pork next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
YUM!! I've never had "BBQ" in this style before. I grew up on Texas BBQ, so I was skeptical, but it was fantastic! We made the recipe exactly as written, but then dressed it with roasted jalapenos for the heck of it (YUM again!). It was a bit too spicy for our 10-yr-old, but perfect for us... and as I said, we even added jalapenos LOL. We served our son's open-faced on a piece of buttered bread, without any extra "sauce" and it cooled the heat just enough and he really enjoyed this way. So no, not what *I* grew up calling BBQ, but definitely a new addition to our rotation of favorite crock-pot dishes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Desoto, Texas, USA
Living In: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Just cooked a 9-1/2 shoulder for a crowd: used a large deep roasting pan in the oven at 300. Substituted balsamic for the cider vinegar. Just call it Carolina/Virginia/Dakota barbeque I guess. Deeeeelish and it smelled wonderful all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I am cooking this now, my husband loves BBQ cooked the Carolina way. He is going to love it if there is any left. I keep picking at it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda
Living In: Moncks Corner, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Yummy! The smell while cooking didn't bother me, but my husbind hated it. The few things i did differently 1) i didn't have apple cider vinegar, so i substituted malt vinegar and a dash of apple juice and watered it down a bit 2) rather than adding the shreaded meat directly back to the juices, i poured the juice into a pot and added the spices as well as a little brown sugar and simmered for about 10 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
very good, little bit of kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
So so good. I made this using about 3 pounds of chicken thighs cooked on high for 3-4 hours and then low for a few more hours (due to lack of planning). Since it was less meat, I only needed about half of the spices. I also used coconut palm sugar instead of brown sugar (but everything else as is). The flavors were delicious and I made it with "Nana's Southern Coleslaw" (using homemade EVOO mayo). My husband says it was one of the best meals he's ever had. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
It reminds me of the BBQ I love best out of Carolina. B's in Greenville NC. As a previous review stated, I add some Liquid Smoke to the slow cooker and it just adds a bit more goodness to it. Glad I found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ

Make authentic-tasting North Carolina pulled pork at home!

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States