Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
So so good. I made this using about 3 pounds of chicken thighs cooked on high for 3-4 hours and then low for a few more hours (due to lack of planning). Since it was less meat, I only needed about half of the spices. I also used coconut palm sugar instead of brown sugar (but everything else as is). The flavors were delicious and I made it with "Nana's Southern Coleslaw" (using homemade EVOO mayo). My husband says it was one of the best meals he's ever had. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
It reminds me of the BBQ I love best out of Carolina. B's in Greenville NC. As a previous review stated, I add some Liquid Smoke to the slow cooker and it just adds a bit more goodness to it. Glad I found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I am glad I read the reviews about the smell when it was cooking and was not overly alarmed that the entire house smelled a little rough. The end product was nothing short of amazing. I love this recipe and will definitely make this again. The kids devoured it and brought their friends over to try it as well. I cooked it on high for 6 hours shredded it and then turned it down for another four. I did add a little liquid smoke as some reviews suggested. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
OH MY GOSH!! I just made this & with some changes I rate it 6 stars!! I used a pork loin roast,was what I had on hand,about 2 1/4 pounds.So I reduced the ingredients a bit to accommodate the smaller size.I used 3/4 cup apple cider vinegar.1 tsp salt & a generous dashing of black pepper.Instead of waiting until the end to add the spicy ingredients,I thought,"wouldn't it taste even better if they were cooked in at the beginning?" So I added about 1 Tsp red cayenne pepper sauce,1/2 Tbs red pepper flakes & a good splash or two of Texas Pete Hot pepper sauce(Tabascos in vinegar),We aren't able to eat very spicy hot things so I had to tone it down for us.I let all that cook for 5 hours on high.It tasted good enough to Me just after shredding it!! But I went ahead & added 1 1/2 Tbs of the brown sugar to 3/4 cup reserved liquid.Added a few more red pepper flakes,less than 1/4 cup more vinegar to boost the flavor a bit more,and another splash of the Tabasco. All in the crock pot until my husband gets home,working late tonight.I think he will be amazed we have fresh pulled pork BBQ at home!! We are always going from place to place here in NC trying to decide which place has the best BBQ & now I will not have to go anywhere!!Good ol' Carolina BBQ!!!Right here at home!!I'm SO excited!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Absolutely LOVE this recipe and so do my family and friends! It is simple to make, with a small ingredient list - yet has rich full flavors. Instead of Tabasco, I add a red pepper chili sauce for spice and it is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Wow, this turned out awesome. I don't live in NC but have family who live there, and when I was younger we always had NC bbq when we visited. It was always a highlight of the trip. So now that I can make it, it brings back all those great memories. Delicious, and so close to the authentic bbq it's amazing. I made an 8 lb roast but followed the rest as described. The only thing I probably will change next time is to ease up on one of the spices, perhaps the cayenne. But that's just personal preference. It was so close to the real thing, I'm still amazed. Everyone else raved about it too. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
LOVE this recipe. Reminds me of when I lived in North Carolina! Granted I'm from the Chicago area and may not "know bbq", but I know this taste awesome. MUST top with slaw to get the true carolina flare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Great recipe and the pork really turned out nice in the crock pot. We did one thing different though and browned the meat on the grill with a salt and pepper rub. Cooked all day and even my wife who's from Carteret County, NC enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This is my go to recipe for BBQ. We recently had this instead of the traditional hotdogs/hamburgers for my daughters birthday party. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I like a minor mustard flavor in my pork bbq base, so I add 4 tablespoons of spicy mustard to the second step and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carolina BBQ

Make authentic-tasting North Carolina pulled pork at home!

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States